Research Guides: A Guide to Religious Studies: Reference

General reference

Oxford Bibliographies
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field.
more...less...
Oxford Bibliographies Online includes bibliographic essays in the fields of American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Evolutionary Biology, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, and Victorian Literature
Britannica Online
Full-text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, covering all subjects.
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2d ed.
NCE is part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Catholic Encyclopedia (1913)
Online version of the 1913 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia. The library owns both the 1913 edition and the New Catholic Encyclopedia (1967-1989) in print.
New Testament Gateway
A gateway to over 25 online Bible and religious studies resources maintained by Dr. Mark Goodacre, Lecturer in New Testament, University of Birmingham.
Acta Sanctorum
Documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. Acta Sanctorum is a principal source for research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe. It’s an inexhaustible fund of information on every aspect of life from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the 16th century.
Encyclopedia of Religion (Gale)
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

Specialized sources

WU has access to many specialized collections that cannot be searched via MultiSearch groups. Links to some of these wonderful resources are below.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
"The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases."
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)
MEMSO is a searchable database of rare books on medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland.
more...less...
NOTE: Firefox bug: The cursor does not show in the search box, but you can type into the box to do a search (just click and type).
Medieval Sourcesonline
Full-text. 'Developed from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series, this is an exciting electronic project which provides the full text of all of the books in the series for students, academics, colleges and universities.'
Middle English Compendium
Full-text. Includes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
International Medieval Bibliography (1967 - ) (3 concurrent users allowed)
Journal index. '...the world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.' Click Enter databases button, then Go button next to IMB.
more...less...
Please logout when finished
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2005)
Explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
John Milton Bibliography
"This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799."
English Short Title Catalogue (1473-1800)
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language -- as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world.
more...less...
Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
Aleppo Codex
The oldest and most complete Hebrew Bible... in a fully searchable format.
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 and 2
Two series of monographs that provide access to more than 29,000 titles—or more than 10 million pages—focused on religion and theology. Series 1 contains titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion
Journal, essay, and book review index. Contains thousands of citations from international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion.

WashU Libraries

A Guide to Religious Studies

Request a source

Google

General reference

Specialized sources