Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Writing: Official Guide

Finding Articles Using Multidisciplinary Databases

The University Libraries provides some great interdisciplinary databases for you when just beginning to look for articles for your research.

Interdisciplinary databases are just what they sound like, they cover many different topics. For example, if you were working on the topic of feminism is popular culture, when searching an interdisciplinary database, you might get results that were psychology focuses, business focused, or media. the search might provide you with lots of results and some may offer a different perspective on a topic that you had not thought of previously.

Some examples of Interdisciplinary Databases that the University Libraries offers are listed below.

The Videos and Tutorials Tab includes videos that walk you through searching several multidisciplinary databases.

Photo by Vlada Karpovich from Pexels

Popular Subject-Specific Databases

Once you have searched some of the multidisciplinary databases, you may want to also search some subject-specific databases.

Subject-specific databases are just what they imply, they cover a very specific subject/focus within that database.

Some examples of subject-specific databases that the University Libraries offers are listed below.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can also be a great place to find scholarly articles that are available through the Libraries databases . Some articles may not be available freely through Google Scholar or via the Libraries databases. If that is the case, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan.

How do I Find out if the University Libraries has a Specific Article?

Another way to find articles for use in your research paper is by reviewing the bibliographies of articles/books that you have already read. This is a great way to find additional articles that might be relevant to your research. If you have information about an article and you want to see if the libraries has access to this article, you can use Citation Linker.

Citation Linker is a tool where you enter as much of the article as you have and the tool will determine if the libraries has access to the article. This form requires at least one of the following: Journal Title, ISSN, or DOI.

If you have the DOI number, using that to search will provide you with a clear result. A digital object identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string that provides a persistent link to its location on the internet. The publisher assigns a DOI when an article is published.