Skip to Main Content

Urban Studies

 

If you've ever used some of the many online citation generators such as EasyBib or Noodle Tools, you're going to enjoy the more robust time-saving and organizational features of Zotero.

Many comparable products and programs exist. Mendeley, RefWorks, and Endnote are some you may know.  Pricing structures vary from free, to “freemium,” to a monthly or annual fee.  To learn more visit their websites or check this handy comparison page.

Or, read this thorough yet concise Why Zotero? page.

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. 

Take a look at what you can do with Zotero:

  1. Create and manage citations of books, articles, videos, etc.
  2. Import citations from databases and the WU Catalog
  3. Add searchable notes and tags to citations; attach pdfs if desired
  4. Built-in PDF reader and annotation tools
  5. Quickly create a bibliography in multiple formats (MLA, Chicago, APA...)
  6. Automatically manage in-text citations in Microsoft Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice/OpenOffice
  7. Easily share references with others with group libraries

What is ZoteroBib?

ZoteroBib - Requires no account or software installation and provides a quick, reliable tool for creating one-off bibliographies. ZoteroBib enables you to build bibliographies in a variety of citaton styles and format basic in-text citations. You may re-use and edit bibliography you create--it will remain available in your browser until you clear it.

Not sure which to use? 

The Zotero/ZoteroBib website offers guidance for choosing the option that is best for you.

Using Zotero with Google Drive

Zotero also compatible with Google Drive documents. The Help page on the Zotero.org website is clear, thorough, and includes images.

For additional information and context, this post from their website may also be of interest.

Mobile Options

There are a number apps and programs compatible with both Android and iOs. They are listed and described on Zotero's website. Some apps are third-party products, but a Zotero app for iPhone and iPad is available from the Apple Store.