Research Guides: Research Data Management: Data Management Tools & Services

Tools

OpenRefine
OpenRefine (formerly Google Refine) is a powerful tool for working with messy data: cleaning it; transforming it from one format into another; and extending it with web services and external data.
Python
It's a general purpose programming language. It provides constructs that enable clear programming on both small and large scales.
R Studio
RStudio is an integrated development environment (IDE) for R. It includes a console, syntax-highlighting editor that supports direct code execution, as well as tools for plotting, history, debugging and workspace management.

Structured Query Language (SQL) allows you to create, access and manipulate databases. Learn more

MAMP
MAMP is a solution stack that allows you to build databases via php admin. MAMP supports integration into web applications such a Wordpress.
MySQL
MySQL is an open-source relational database management system (RDBMS).
REDCap (WashU Institute of Informatics)
REDCap is a secure, web-based application for building and managing online databases.
SQLite
SQLite is a C-language library that implements a small, fast, self-contained, high-reliability, full-featured, SQL database engine.

NoSQL (or Not Only SQL) are databases are more openly structured and not relational. Learn more.

CouchDB
CouchDB is a document database that speaks JSON natively and supports binary data.
MongoDB
MongoDB is a document database with the scalability, flexibility, and indexing.
more...

We talk about sharing in several parts of this guide. Here's a decision tree to help you decide where to share. image depicts a decision tree for choosing a data repository

PDF Version of Repository Decision Tree

re3data: Registry of Data Repositories
Identifies and describes data repositories.
Washington University Research Data (WURD)
Copyrighted by the authors. Some have Creative Commons Licenses. Selected WUSTL affiliated datasets. Digital Research Materials (Data & Supplemental Files). https://data.library.wustl.edu

Open Science Framework
Open Science Framework, “a scholarly commons to connect the entire research cycle,” is a free and open source project management tool which facilitates faculty, graduate student, and researcher collaborations across all disciplines (humanities, social sciences, medicine, and natural sciences). It was developed by the Center for Open Science (COS)
more...less...
The COS mission is to increase openness, integrity, and reproducibility of research.
WashU OSF Research Guide
A guide to navigating the OSF. WashU is an institutional member and you may log in with your WUSTL.key.

Services & Resources

Data Services
Data services provides instruction, consultation and project support in the areas of data management, curation, analysis and visualization of research data.
Institute for Informatics (I2)
Washington University (WU) has created the Institute for Informatics (I2) to provide an academic and professional home for informatics science and practice. The institute engages in innovative research, workforce development and informatics service delivery, targeting a variety of critical areas of need.
Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research
The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research (OVCR) is responsible for university-wide research policies, procedures, operations, support infrastructure and educational programs.
Research Computing and Data Services @ Becker
Educational offerings and support programs in the areas of data management, data sharing, and data reuse.
Research Infrastructure Services (RIS)
RIS provides solutions for data storage, compute, and research collaboration, among other services.

Q's about data

If you have additional questions about data management, sharing, and citation, check out DataQ

DataQ

Research Data Management

Contact for Data Consultation

DMS @ Becker Library

Ask Us!

Tools

Services & Resources

Q's about data