Contact Info
Archive, Manuscript & Rare Book collections are accessed in Olin Library at the Special Collections reading room.
HOURS: Monday - Friday 9:00-5:00 by appointment
LOCATION: Olin Library, 1st floor, Danforth Campus
REQUESTS / APPOINTMENTS: 314-935-5495 spec@wumail.wustl.edu
*collections stored offsite require advance notice for retrieval and use
Questions about a specific topic? Contact:
University Archives: Sonya Rooney
Rare Books: Cassie Brand
Manuscript: Joel Minor
Local History: Miranda Rectenwald
Dowd Illustration Research Archive: interim curator
Film & Media Archive: Andy Uhrich
Researching Holidays
This page is an overview of primary sources available at Special Collections about American festivals, celebrations, and holidays, with an emphasis on St. Louis, and WU events. Secondary sources are also available from the WU Libraries.
Primary Sources - Campus Holidays
May Fete, St. Fatima's Day & St. Patrick's Day
- Washington University Photographic Services Collection
This link opens in a new window
Photographs of various campus events
Box M-1 May Fete (May Day)
Box S-3 St. Fatima’s Day (Architects)
Box E-2 Engineering (St. Patrick’s Day)
and more.... - May Fete on Campus
Digital exhibit about this campus celebration
- Volkman Files (not online), Box 07, May Day / May Fete programs and clippings (1911-1943, non-consecutive)
- WU Yearbooksfor St. Fatima's Day see Hatchet 1918, page 304
- College of Architecture Records
- This link opens in a new window
St. Patrick's Day and St. Fatima's Day both included in an oversize wooden album, 1922 – 1948
- WU Memorabilia Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Box 21, Student Scrapbook of Irene Schageman, 1915 - 1919
Includes: Greeting Cards, Dance Cards and other party favors for holidays including: Halloween, Thanksgiving, Valentines Day, and Armistice Day.
- 25th Anniversary (1882)
- This link opens in a new window
- 50th Anniversary (1907)
- This link opens in a new window
- 75th Anniversary (1928-1932)
- This link opens in a new window
- Centennial (100th) 1952-53
- This link opens in a new window
- 125th Anniversary (1977-78)
- This link opens in a new window
- Sesquicentennial (150th) 2003-2004
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources - St. Louis Holiday Celebrations
Christmas (post WW-II)
- City of St. Louis, Office of the Mayor Files of Raymond Tucker
- This link opens in a new window
Series 01, Box 6 and Box 7 includes:
St. Louis displays 1950 - 1957 (including fund raising, complaint letters, photographs of displays, reports of theft/vandalism)
Correspondence from other major US cities describing their decorations in 1949
National Journal of Advertising Displays "Signs of the Times" October 1957, featuring outdoor Christmas displays for sale - City of St. Louis, Office of the Mayor Files of Alfonso Cervantes
- This link opens in a new window
Series 01, Box 11 and Box 70 includes:
St. Louis displays 1966 - 1968 (including fund raising, photographs of displays, new design ideas)
Newsclippings (Box 70)
- America's biggest birthday party, V.P. Fair, Saint Louis / photographedCall Number: E286 S14 1985 4o (Archives)Publication Date: 1985
- V.P. Fair in review, 1981-1990 : a photographic history commemorating the 10th anniversary of the V.P. FairCall Number: E286 .S14 1990 (Archives)Publication Date: 1990
- Illuminated official programme of the autumnal festivities at St. Louis, Mo., 1886.Call Number: GT4502.13.M8 G7 1886 (Archive Ref)
- Women's Resource Center (WRC) Records
- This link opens in a new window
Includes flyers related to the 1979 and 1980 St. Louis Pride events (Series 01, Box 01, "HerStory 1973-80, folder 2") - City of St. Louis, Office of the Mayor: James F. Conway Records,
- This link opens in a new window
Series 02, Box 44, “Parades, April 1977 – “
Letters and flyers from Magnolia Committee, 1980 about first Gay Pride Parade in St. Louis (about 5 pages of documents)
See also other parts of Mayor Conway's Records (1977 - 1981) for "parades"
Diaries & Journals
Examine how holidays or events are chronicled by an individual in their personal notes:
- World War I Diary of A. Proetz, 1918
- This link opens in a new window
- Diary of Tom Eliot, Wash. DC, 1934
- This link opens in a new window
part of the Thomas S. Eliot Papers - Daily calendars of Arthur and Betty Compton, 1928-1961
- This link opens in a new window
Series 4, Box 6a, Diaries and Appointment books, 1928-1961 - ONLINE North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial-1950(from Univ of Chicago)
Online Primary Sources
- 20th Century IllustrationsSearch the Modern Graphic History Library's 3,000+ images for "Christmas" "Halloween" or other keywords