American Memory Collection, Library of Congress - University Staff - Library Workplace Resources - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

American Memory Collection Suggested Links

The resources from the American Memory Collection have significant visual arts image components. Use restrictions for all American Memory collections

Browse the entire American Memory Collection by topic, time period, material or location.
America from the Great Depression to World War II: Photographs from the FSA and OWI, ca. 1935-1945
Over 55,000 black-and-white and1600 color photographs which are among the most famous documentary photographs ever produced.
more...less...
American Memory Collection. In the early years, the project emphasized rural life and the negative impact of the Great Depression, farm mechanization, and the Dust Bowl. In later years, the photographers turned their attention to the mobilization effort for World War II.
America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views, 1839-1862
Approximately 600 photographs dating from 1839 to 1862. Portrait daguerreotypes produced by the Mathew Brady studio make up the major portion of the collection. Also includes early architectural views by John Plumbe.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
2,300 photographs and 7,700 pages of text relating to the American Indians in two cultural areas of the Pacific Northwest, the Northwest Coast and Plateau.
American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920: a Study Collection from the Harvard Graduate School of Design
2,800 lantern slides of American buildings and landscapes built during 1850-1920. It represents the work of Harvard faculty, such as Frederick Law Olmsted Jr., as well as that of prominent landscape architects throughout the country.
Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America: Photographs by Samuel Gottscho and William Schleisner, 1935-1955
Over 29,000 photographs primarily of architectural subjects concentrated chiefly in the eastern United States.
Baseball Cards, 1887-1914
2,100 early baseball cards dating from 1887 to 1914.
Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record
Includes measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from the 17th to the 20th century.
more...less...
Documents architecture, engineering and design in the United States through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies.
By the People, For the People: Posters from the WPA, 1936-1943
907 boldly colored and graphically diverse original posters produced from 1936 to 1943.
Creative Americans: Portraits by Carl Van Vechten, 1932-1964
Almost 1400 photographs, primarily studio portraits of people involved in the arts.
Origins of American Animation
21 animated films and 2 fragments, from1900 to 1921. The films include clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings.
Quilts and Quiltmaking in America, 1978-1996
Represents a wide range of quiltmaking, from traditional to innovative, and excellent design and technical skill in a variety of styles and materials.
more...less...
Materials from the Blue Ridge Parkway Folklife Project Collection (1978) and the Lands' End All-American Quilt Contest Collection (1992, 1994, 1996).
Selected Civil War Photographs
1,118 photographs, most made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady. Includes scenes of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects, portraits of officers and enlisted men.
Taking the Long View: Panoramic Photographs, 1851-1991
Approximately 4,000 images featuring American cityscapes, landscapes, and group portraits.
Touring Turn-of-the-Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company, 1880 - 1920
Over 25,000 glass negatives and transparencies as well as about 300 color photolithograph prints.