Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).

The complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and early 1900s. First-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Dates covered: 1827 - 1919.

Full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Learn more about this database

Historical newspapers covering religious news, and the role religion played in American life and society. Supports research of early American history, religious history, ethnic studies, abolitionism, Civil War, and gender studies. Contains more than 320 rare newspapers from over 30 states published between 1799 and 1900.

The Atlantic magazine archive,1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-century American thought.

Indexes over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. Integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849. Learn more about this database

The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.

Full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865, including articles about civilian life as well as the Civil War.

Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, have been digitized. The Libraries have subscribed to Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876; and Series 3, 1829-1922, Series 10, 1730-1900, Series 12, 1821-1900, and Series 13, 1803-1916.

The oldest general-interest monthly in America, Harper’s Magazine explores the issues that drive our national conversation, through long-form narrative journalism, fiction, essays, and such celebrated features as the iconic Harper’s Index. Provides readers with a unique perspective on politics, society, the environment, and culture.

Full text and full-page images, which contain numerous illustrations and maps. Indexed by subject, illustrations, literature & publishing, advertising, occupation, and literary genre.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text.
More info about HathiTrust

Includes The Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

Historical women’s periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women’s rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women’s periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.

The entire run of Liberty Magazine, containing nearly 1,400 issues, over 17,000 fiction and non-fiction articles, and thousands of advertisements -- all in a searchable, full-color format. The magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America. Browse by date, contributor, and artist, or search the full text of the entire publication (including advertising, maps, and cartoons).

Offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America's first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources.

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

A full-text scholarly journal archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. Spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. Learn more about this database

Millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Covers 37 key subject areas and multiple languages. Learn more about this database

Complete, full-text contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues. Learn more about this database

This collection covers much of the eighty years from 1840 - 1920 and includes newspapers that had some overlap between the temperance and women’s rights movements, as well as an anti-suffrage paper.

Digital collection of British historic newspapers. Uses a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library. Also includes specially commissioned essays and contextual materials. Learn more about this database

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. Learn more about this database

Full-text. 'The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection ...totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles

Indexes over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. Integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849. Learn more about this database

Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Learn more about this database

Brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. The Libraries have purchased Section I, Section II and Section IV.

The Historical Guardian (1821-2003) and the Historical Observer (1791-2003) offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Learn more about this database

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Over 10 million volumes have been added to the library; of which more than 3.3 million are available full text.
More info about HathiTrust

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 is the complete digital edition-over 260,000 full colour pages-of the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. Celebrated for its vivid pictorial commentary on global news, the ILN is a unique resource for the history of the last 150 years. Learn more about this database

The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.

Full-text articles and images from the Daily mail (1896-2016) and the Daily Mail Atlantic edition (1923-1931). Includes essays on the Daily Mail.

A major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly politicized rivals. The Independent has consistently distinguished itself with innovative graphic design and prominent use of photography.

Historical women’s periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women’s rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women’s periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.

Coverage rages from the aftermath of the Great Famine, the launch of the Titanic, and the Easter Rising of 1916, to the World Wars, the Troubles, and today’s most pressing global social issues.

Established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, the weekly publication also discussed major literary and musical programs, and it regularly reviewed new books. This archive enables users to search across 125,000 pages of the Listener publications, all newly digitized from originals in full color. Select broadcast transcripts are also included in this database.

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.

A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. Series 1 covers New Readerships and Series 2 covers the British Empire. Learn more about this database

A full-text scholarly journal archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. Spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. Learn more about this database

Complete archive of the Picture Post, all digitized from originals in full color. Browse by issue or contributor or search by keyword, article title, caption, contributor name, entire document, or record number.

From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of humour and satire. Includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes. The archive also correlates the previously anonymous articles and those written under pseudonyms with the private ledgers of contributors kept by the Punch editors, in many cases revealing for the first time the true identity of the authors.

In more than 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 190 years. Browse by date or search the full text of editorials, features, picture captions, advertising, and more.

Over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. Offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years, and provides an
important alternative voice to other national UK dailies such as The Times and The Independent.

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive Navigation Guide

More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed. Learn more about this database

Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included. Learn more about this database