Your Librarian and Curator
- Research Support for Creative WritersArticle by Julia Glassman about bolstering undergraduate fiction and poetry through library instruction
Using Primary Sources: Hands-On Instructional Exercises by
Special collections librarians and archivists in academic settings are often confronted with the challenge of teaching classes outside their personal area of expertise, with very little notice or guidance--as the authors of this book can attest. Using Primary Sources: Hands-On Instructional Exercises features 30 adaptable, hands-on exercises that special collections librarians, archivists, museum professionals, and teaching faculty can use in a multitude of instructional situations with K-12, undergraduate, graduate, and library school students. The exercises teach lessons in both archival intelligence--such as building skills in using finding aids and locating primary sources--and artifactual literacy, such as building skills in interpretation and analysis of primary sources. Each exercise includes sections for audience, subject area, and materials used so that instructors can find customizable, easy-to-follow "recipes" to use regardless of personal experience and expertise. In addition, this consultable reference resource includes a bibliography of readings related to instruction in special collections, archives, and museum environments.
ISBN: 9781610694353Publication Date: 2014-03-20
_______________________
- Literary Journals and Magazines – review various contemporary titles, in both electronic and physical formats
- Note: Bookmark the eJournal & eBook search bar; this is the easiest way to check for online access.
Tip: Before searching, limit to “Journals Only” and “Title Equals”
eResource access problem? Let us know.
- Subject Research - The English and American Literature Research Guide and its Creative Writing Sub-page may be of particular interest
- Subject Librarians – get individual help for your students or you; guidance in finding and using resources of WUSTL Libraries and beyond
Schedule a research consultation online with a librarian
- Databases and Reference Sources—both physical and online. Find using the Catalog , Primo, and the A-Z Database List
- Digital Collections
- Digitized Historical newspaper archives
- Rare primary source materials – digital collections
Request a Course Guide
Course Reserves and Video & Audio Streaming Info
BrowZine, bypass proxy login and read journals from your customized bookshelf on your mobile device
Zotero, citation management program
Special Collections
- Special Collections - Research & Access
- Introduction to Selected Authors & Their Collections
- Modern Literature Collection
Your Librarian and Curator
- Kris Helbling –Librarian, English & American Literature – helbling@wustl.edu 314-935-7466
- Joel Minor – Curator, Modern Literature Collection/Manuscripts – joelminor@wustl.edu 314-935-5413