Instructor Contact Information
Janie Brennan
Office: Brauer Hall, Room 3002
Phone: 314-935-9447
Email: jbrennan@wustl.edu
Marcus Foston
Office: Brauer Hall, Room 1007
Phone: 314-935-7866
Email: mfoston@wustl.edu
Kurt Russell
Office: Brauer Hall, Room 3021
Phone: 314-935-7810
Email: kurtr@wustl.edu
Head of STEM Subject Librarians; Engineering Subject Librarian
Recommended Course Handbooks
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by ISBN: 9781498784542Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Up-to-Date Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics―from the Fundamentals to the State of the Art Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more. This fully updated edition covers: Unit Conversion Factors and Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data including Prediction and Correlation of Physical Properties * Mathematics including Differential and Integral Calculus, Statistics , Optimization * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics *Reaction Kinetics * Process Control and Instrumentation* Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Operations and Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment *Chemical Reactors * Bio-based Reactions and Processing * Waste Management including Air ,Wastewater and Solid Waste Management* Process Safety including Inherently Safer Design * Energy Resources, Conversion and Utilization* Materials of Construction
ISBN: 9780071834087Publication Date: 2018-08-29
Unit Operations of Chemical Engineering by ISBN: 9780072848236Publication Date: 2004-10-27Available via Instructors
Additional Database/eBook Resources
Ludwig's Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants (Volume 1) by ISBN: 9780750677660Publication Date: 2007-01-25- Ludwig's Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants (Volume 2) by ISBN: 9780750677660Publication Date: 2007-01-25
Ludwig's Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants (Volume 3) by ISBN: 9780750677660Publication Date: 2007-01-25
Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers by
Experimental Methods and Instrumentation for Chemical Engineers, Second Edition, touches many aspects of engineering practice, research, and statistics. The principles of unit operations, transport phenomena, and plant design constitute the focus of chemical engineering in the latter years of the curricula. Experimental methods and instrumentation is the precursor to these subjects. This resource integrates these concepts with statistics and uncertainty analysis to define what is necessary to measure and to control, how precisely and how often. The completely updated second edition is divided into several themes related to data: metrology, notions of statistics, and design of experiments. The book then covers basic principles of sensing devices, with a brand new chapter covering force and mass, followed by pressure, temperature, flow rate, and physico-chemical properties. It continues with chapters that describe how to measure gas and liquid concentrations, how to characterize solids, and finally a new chapter on spectroscopic techniques such as UV/Vis, IR, XRD, XPS, NMR, and XAS. Throughout the book, the author integrates the concepts of uncertainty, along with a historical context and practical examples. A problem solutions manual is available from the author upon request.
ISBN: 9780444640383Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers by
Helps engineers and scientists assess and manage uncertainty at all stages of experimentation and validation of simulations Fully updated from its previous edition, Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers, Fourth Edition includes expanded coverage and new examples of applying the Monte Carlo Method (MCM) in performing uncertainty analyses. Presenting the current, internationally accepted methodology from ISO, ANSI, and ASME standards for propagating uncertainties using both the MCM and the Taylor Series Method (TSM), it provides a logical approach to experimentation and validation through the application of uncertainty analysis in the planning, design, construction, debugging, execution, data analysis, and reporting phases of experimental and validation programs. It also illustrates how to use a spreadsheet approach to apply the MCM and the TSM, based on the authors' experience in applying uncertainty analysis in complex, large-scale testing of real engineering systems. Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers, Fourth Edition includes examples throughout, contains end of chapter problems, and is accompanied by the authors' website www.uncertainty-analysis.com. Guides readers through all aspects of experimentation, validation, and uncertainty analysis Emphasizes the use of the Monte Carlo Method in performing uncertainty analysis Includes complete new examples throughout Features workable problems at the end of chapters Experimentation, Validation, and Uncertainty Analysis for Engineers, Fourth Edition is an ideal text and guide for researchers, engineers, and graduate and senior undergraduate students in engineering and science disciplines. Knowledge of the material in this Fourth Edition is a must for those involved in executing or managing experimental programs or validating models and simulations.
ISBN: 9781119417668Publication Date: 2018-03-29
Chemical Process Safety by ISBN: 0131382268Publication Date: 2019-05-20Washington University Patrons can log in by clicking "Not listed? Click here." On the next login page, enter your WUSTL email.
If it doesn't work, you can search book in O'Reilly: https://www.safaribooksonline.com/library/view/temporary-access/
- CAMEO ChemicalsDatabase of Hazardous Materials
- NIST Chemistry WebBookNational Institute of Science and Technology WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
- AccessEngineering (Access Engineering) This link opens in a new window AccessEngineering delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more. Learn more about this database
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window A collection of chemistry reference works including: Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD); The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics; Polymers: A Property Database; Properties of Organic Compounds; and CRCPress Periodic Table Online.
- CRCnetBASE This link opens in a new window Over 5,000 full-text books across the sciences, fully searchable and browsable. NOTE that the Libraries subscribe to most but not all the full-text content found on this site. Topics covered include the biomedical sciences, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, engineering, environmental science, ergonomics and human factors, food science, forensics and criminal justice, healthcare, information technology, life science, material science, math, medicine, nutrition, pharmaceutical science and regulation, physics, and statistics.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new window Over 2,800 major science and technical reference books and databases from major sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons and Elsevier.
Quick Library Links
