Research Guides: EECE 533: Physical and Chemical Processes for Water Treatment (Giammar): Home

Quick Links

Quick Search Catalog
Search by article title to check if it's from a peer-reviewed journal.
Washington University in St. Louis Library Catalog
Access books, ebooks, journal titles, government reports, and more.
Illiad (Interlibrary Loan) Services
Article and book delivery.

AccessEngineering
McGraw-Hill textbooks, handbooks and more.
Knovel Library
Science and technical reference books and from publishers including John Wiley & Sons and Elsevier.
Academic Search Complete (1975-)
Great start for database novices; work on keywords and search filters.
Scopus
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
Web of Science (1900 - )
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)

National Technical Reports Library (NTIS/NTRL)
Contains the largest collection of US Government-sponsored technical reports. Note: Search to Public NTRL is free but in order to display a full text document you would need to register. Registration is free but Terms and Conditions of use need to be signed.

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
OSTI.GOV
search tool for science, technology, and engineering research and development results from the Department of Energy and predecessor agencies
EPA Publications

Citing Your Sources & Writing Styles
This guide is designed to help you find information on how to cite your sources correctly and to avoid plagiarism.
How to Choose: Zotero, Mendeley, or EndNote
WUIT Endnote Purchase

Identify relevant engineering standard numbers based on design prompt inputs.
Summarize standards and standard requirements.
Brainstorm keywords, subject headings, and additional research areas.
Identify possible "experts."
Help outline your report.
Remember to fact-check all information generated as it could be wrong, outdated, or fabricated.

Start creative juices and overcome writer's block.
- Generate topics, keywords, and ideas.
- Help outline papers.
- Compare and contrast
- Refine research questions and thesis.
- Note effective prompts and strategies.
Engineer your prompts to interact and converse with the GenAi.
- Be very specific with your language inputs.
- Consider the target audience and task.
- Refine your questions and responses-- it may take a couple back-and-forth questions and clarification to land on useful information.
- Fact-check everything. Then cite that other source.
Beware of misinformation, programming bias, and hallucinations.
- GenAI will fake articles, standards, and citations.
- The free version of ChatGPT has limited knowledge of the world or events after 2021.
- Gemini will hallucinate the perfect standard --- that might not actually exist.
- If you copy/paste AI-generated text, you could plagiarize without knowing it.

Citations

Hargadon, Steve. "Library 2.0's ChatGPT Bootcamp for Libraries and Librarians." Library 2.0, 3/25/2023, https://www.library20.com/bootcamps/chatgpt.
Hood, Sarah. "Using Generative AI Responsibly for Brainstorming and Refining a Research Question." ACRL Framework for Information Literacy Sandbox. https://sandbox.acrl.org/resources/using-generative-ai-responsibly-brainstorming-and-refining-research-question-0