African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field’s institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the theory, method, and the history of American literature
Oxford Bibliographies in British and Irish Literature is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to recommended literature, organized by the themes and topics in British and Irish literature. Each article is written by a scholar in the field and provides an overview of the topic, a narrative, bibliographic essay listing the recommended resources for that topic, each with a detailed description.
Oxford Bibliographies in Communication provides the necessary guidance to students and scholars study of communication. The extensive and ever-changing nature of communication includes multiple epistemologies, methodologies, and overlapping domains. This bibliography includes recent scholarship, research, and statistics.
Literary and critical theory encompasses a range of topics, including periods, movements, themes and works that make it a dynamic field of study. This collection provides researchers with a pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources. Every article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. This collection covers other disciplines which feed in to, and are often transformed by, literary theory; disciplines such as linguistics, philosophy, psychoanalysis, sociology, the social sciences and work from non-Anglophone cultures and traditions.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries.
Expert recommendations on the best works available in each discipline; from a chapter, a book, a journal article, a website, an archive, or data set. Each article includes an introduction written by a top scholar in the field. Covers the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the literature of the Victorian period, which encompasses the reign of Queen Victoria from 1837 to 1901. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Includes all volumes from Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors - New Revision Series purchased by the Libraries through 2010.
More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Learn more about this database.
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Learn more about this database.
An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
Full-text access to books in the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture series. Essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience. NOTE: Washington University Libraries do not subscribe to Shakespeare Survey. Please ignore those references in your results; you will not be able to get to the full-text.
Over 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics, written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world. Also lists over 22,000 works by date, country and genre. Covers canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian, and is extending its coverage of Italian, Spanish, Latin and Greek. Data can be arrayed by date, country and genre.
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Learn more about this database.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature contains over 400 articles and aims to map, over time, the world’s entire landscape of literary expressions and criticism, weaving together the various fields and approaches that make up literature.
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language. It complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500 and is part of the online Middle English Compendium) and the Oxford English Dictionary. At present the DOE includes words beginning with the letters A through Le. Access the Web Corpus here.
Includes access to the Middle English Dictionary (1100-1500), the HyperBibliography of Middle English, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of many English words. Second edition, updated quarterly. Learn more about this resource.
Contains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Includes background, overview, and "wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship...on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present."
Includes background, reference, and essays covering “major topics, the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies” and “articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.”
Full-text of over 250,000 poems, and 450,000 poem citations. Search by words in poems, subject, and author and gender, schools and movements, language, forms, nationality, era, and cultural identity. Also included are audio recordings of some poems, and a history and criticism section with the full-text of award-winning books on poetry.
Over 100,000 of the most important and influential poems representing the full range of movements and traditions in American poetry from 1900 to the present day including Maya Angelou, John Ashbery Gwendolyn Brooks, Clark Coolidge, Rita Dove, Susan Howe, Langston Hughes, W.S. Merwin, Ezra Pound, Adrienne Rich, Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams. Content includes: Epistolary novels, Gothic novels, Documentary fictions, Allegorical narratives, and satires.
