Where to Find Articles
There many ways to find articles for your research:
1. Below are some good databases to search for Neuroscience-related articles online. Once you find an article you would like to read, click on the 
button or "Linked Full Text."
2. You can also look for articles online in a specific journal. Below you will find some resources for finding journals and a few highly ranked Neuroscience journals.
3. Washington University's libraries also have a large collection of print journals. To search for these, go to the Classic Catalog.
4. You can also search Primo, a search tool that searches multiple library resources all at once. By searching through Primo, you can get results from the Library Catalog, journals, newspapers, research guides, reference materials, and more. Once you find an article, just like in other databases, click on the button to read it.
Databases
- APA PsycInfo (formerly PsycInfo) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Indexed materials are international in scope selected from psychology and related journals published globally in over 25 languages. Updated weekly. Learn more about this database
- PubMed (1946 - ) This link opens in a new windowOver 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases. Learn more about this database
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not. Accessing Google Scholar via the proxied link will enable Get It! and Web of Science Links from within Google Scholar citations. Learn more about proxying Google Scholar Having trouble accessing Google Scholar from off-campus? Use this research guide to access Google Scholar.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
Journals
There are dozens of Neuroscience journals available to the Washington University community. For online access to these, visit: Neuroscience Journals via BrowZine. Below are a few of the most highly ranked journals.
Frontiers in NeurosciencePublication Date: 2007-presentEditors: Idan Segev, Jon H Kaas, Henry Markram, Larry Abbott
ISSN: 1662-4548
Nature NeurosciencePublication Date: 1998-presentISSN: 10976256
"A multidisciplinary journal that publishes papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of neuroscience."
Journal of NeurosciencePublication Date: 1981-presentISSN: 0270-6474
"a multidisciplinary journal that publishes papers on a broad range of topics of general interest to those working on the nervous system."