A Guide to Physics Resources

Provides a step-by-step approach that makes it easier to turn your hard-won results into papers that your fellow scientists want to read and cite.

Thoroughly updated throughout, this classic, practical text on how to write and publish a scientific paper takes its own advice to be "as clear and simple as possible."

Bridges the gap between complex scientific concepts and their real-world applications, offering multidisciplinary insights from physics and astrophysics. This open access volume delves into the motivations, benefits, and challenges of large-scale international scientific efforts, making it accessible for future reflection and learning.

Presents new mathematical techniques for studying the behavior of mean-field systems with disordered interactions, specifically certain problems of statistical inference in high dimension and on spin glasses.

Shows why feminism, which highlights the experience of marginalized groups, enriches our reflection on topics like human autonomy, freedom, responsibility, reproductive issues, and bio enhancement in extraterrestrial exploration.
Also available in print.

Graduate-level introduction that does not assume a strong background in particle physics or quantum field theory. Covers general relativity, early universe thermodynamics, cosmic microwave background, Big Bang nucleosynthesis, the origin and detection of dark matter, neutrino and gamma-ray astrophysics, supersymmetry, and more.

[Replacement for lost copy] The 9th Edition features major updates and new content that focuses on the possibility of life in the universe, as well as a new focus on cultural diversity among scientists and ethics across science and astronomy.

[Replacement for lost copy]. Addresses the central physical concepts and mathematical techniques used to investigate the dynamics of open quantum systems. Only a basic understanding of quantum mechanics and of probability theory is assumed.

[Replacement for lost copy]. Van der Waals interactions, Casimir forces, the Lifshitz theory of molecular forces between macroscopic media, and the many-body theory of such forces based on dyadic Green functions are analyzed from the perspective of Langevin noise, vacuum field fluctuations, and zero-point energy.

Comprehensive graduate-level textbook. Charged particles in vacuum and the electrodynamics of continuous media are given equal attention in discussions of electrostatics, magnetostatics, quasistatics, conservation laws, wave propagation, radiation, scattering, special relativity and field theory.

The essential introduction to modern statistical mechanics, now completely updated with a new chapter on stochastic thermodynamics, a more detailed account of numerical simulations, and an accessible introduction to the replica theory of spin glasses and the Hopfield theory of neural networks.

This second edition lays out the foundations of quantum mechanics through the physics of intrinsic spin to serve as the primary textbook for an upper-division course in quantum mechanics. It also includes new sections on quantum teleportation, the density operator, coherent states, and cavity quantum electrodynamics.

Comprehensive astrophysics textbook for undergraduates covering classical mechanics, relativistic mechanics, relativistic spacetime, general and special relativity, tensor calculus, cosmology, dark matter, dark energy, and black holes, among other topics.

The study of energy landscapes holds the key to resolving some of the most important contemporary problems in chemical physics. This is the first book to cover this active field, and includes energy landscape applications to clusters, biomolecules, and glasses.

This book provides an introduction to the theory of relativity and the mathematics used in its processes. The book starts at a lower mathematical level than standard books with tensor calculus of sufficient maturity to make it possible to give detailed calculations of relativistic predictions of practical experiments. In-between calculations have also been included, making it possible for the non-technical reader to follow step-by-step calculations.

In this fascinating foray into the centuries-old relationship between science and military power, acclaimed astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson and writer-researcher Avis Lang examine how the methods and tools of astrophysics have been enlisted in the service of war.

Introductory textbook that needs only a familiarity with the basics of electromagnetism and quantum mechanics. The book transitions from textbook explanations, equations, and formulas to ready-to-run numeric codes that enable the visualization of concepts and simulation studies.

VCD spectroscopy is applied to topics involving flexible fibrils of gels, chiral molecules, and the build-up of supramolecular chirality in molecular crystals. The last part of the book presents the possibility of medical diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease through multi-dimensional VCD analyses.

Opens with a non-formal introduction into the basics of supernovae and Boltzmann kinetic equations, follows with computational physics, and closes with original thoughts regarding burning in degenerate carbon-oxygen cores, neutrino transport in Type II supernovae, aspherical nucleosynthesis in a core-collapse supernova, and more.

The quality and quantity of space data poses new and specific challenges to the scientific community, covering the entire life cycle of space data management and with a need for an interdisciplinary approach.

When our political and cultural views feel more polarized than ever, Neil deGrasse Tyson provides a much-needed antidote to so much of what divides us, while making a passionate case for the twin chariots of enlightenment--a cosmic perspective and the rationality of science.

Shows how 'Continuous Spontaneous Localization' (CSL) theory allows Quantum Theory to describe what actually happens, rather than what might happens in the realm of quantum theory.

Comprehensive resource covering concepts, perspectives, and skills required to understand the preparation, nonlinear optics, and applications of two-dimensional (2D) materials, such as transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDs) and single elemental 2D materials.

Intended to help astronomers to be better educators and communicators about the causes and consequences of climate change. This book also discusses how climate change is impacting astronomy as a profession, as well as ways that astronomy can reduce its carbon emissions.

Thorough introduction to the tools of general relativity and relativistic cosmology. Assuming familiarity with advanced calculus, classical mechanics, electrodynamics and special relativity.

Undergraduate introduction to the statistical mechanics of phase transitions, focusing on the basic principles for classifying distinct thermodynamic phases and the critical phenomena associated with transitions between them.

The received wisdom in quantum physics is that quantum objects--indeed, reality itself--aren't real unless shaped by human measurement. Kay asserts reality is predictable and independent of human measurement by drawing attention back to the long-overlooked quantum theory of pilot waves.

Offers a physics-first approach to quantum measurement, covering topics like weak measurements, quantum trajectories, and stochastic path integrals. Ideal for physics students seeking a concise exploration of measurement theory.

Comprehensive overview of algorithms and numerical methods for computing electromagnetic fields in multi-layered media. The book covers topics such as Maxwell’s equations, Green’s functions, dipole radiation, integral equations, and rational function fitting.

Explores entropy using an information theory perspective, providing a solid foundation for thermodynamics and statistical mechanics. It includes online resources, unique calculations, discussions on statistical systems, and practical insights into classical and quantum statistics.

Provides the mathematical tools to physics or engineering students to understand tensor calculus and its application. This supports coursework in general relativity, electromagnetism, fluid dynamics, quantum information theory and quantum field theory, solid mechanics, crystallography, continuum mechanics, plasma physics, and thermodynamics.

Offers a comprehensive reference for partial discharge measurement in high voltage equipment. It covers both fundamental concepts and practical applications, including: discharge phenomena (contact sparking and vibration sparking), measurement (electrical, optical, acoustic, and chemical), RF detection (antenna, TEV), instrumentation, and high-voltage equipment.

Provides an introduction to quantization in a broad context before developing a framework for quantum geometry in matrix theory and string theory. Taking a physics-oriented approach to quantum geometry, this framework helps explain the physics of Yang-Mills-type matrix models, leading to a quantum theory of space-time and matter.

Offers an interdisciplinary investigation into eclipses that includes voices from across the traditional humanities/sciences academic divisions. The unique view on solar eclipses invites us to imagine a liberated mode of discovery, perception, creativity, knowledge-production, and communal thinking across disciplinary borders.

Reference for deterministic models (rely on precisely known inputs) and stochastic models (account for uncertainty or randomness in data inputs) in computational electromagnetics. The book emphasizes a combined approach and covers non-intrusive stochastic methods and examples related to ground penetrating radars, 5G radiation, and more.

Addresses common claims and misconceptions around quantum mechanics and presents a fresh and modern understanding of this fundamental and essential physical theory. It includes topics like quantum field theory, decoherence, and philosophical interpretations.

Covers interdisciplinary topics such as colloids, polymers, liquid crystals, and emerging areas like metamaterials, bioactive systems, and machine learning. Integrates statistical mechanics, dynamical systems, and hydrodynamic approaches.

During the 1840s and 1850s, the British government financed a network of naval expeditions and colonial observatories to study the planet's magnetism. Edward Gillin argues that the British Magnetic Survey had broader implications over the formation of the 'modern state', the expansion of nineteenth-century empire, and the development of global science.

Steven French delves into the heart of quantum physics, drawing inspiration from Husserl’s phenomenological philosophy. By reexamining the role of consciousness in resolving the measurement problem, French offers a fresh perspective that challenges conventional views and invites readers to explore the uncharted territories of quantum theory.
Also available in print.

From Goethe’s chocolate experiments to globalized categories of skin colorism, this book explores how color shapes our social fabric, weaving together art, science, and governance across two centuries.

This innovative textbook takes a novel approach to introductory quantum mechanics by utilizing concept maps. These visual structures address non-linear relationships in key mathematical derivations, providing an intuitive and interconnected understanding of quantum concepts.

Discover the quantum world through code! In this engaging textbook, Professor Sølve Selstø introduces an innovative computational approach to quantum mechanics, equipping students with the tools to simulate and visualize quantum phenomena directly.

Discover the cutting-edge world of organic nanochemistry in this comprehensive guide. From modern synthetic reactions to supramolecular strategies and state-of-the-art data analysis, this book equips entry-level practitioners with the essential tools for exploring the fascinating realm of organic nanomaterials and molecular devices.

Describes the laser-plasma interactions mostly driven by ultra-short ultra-intense lasers, including electron acceleration, ion acceleration, and generation of radiations.

Deftly weaving together daily experience and fundamental physics--the musical universe, the enigmatic quantum, cosmic fields, and the Higgs boson--Strassler shows us how all things, familiar and unfamiliar, emerge from what seems like nothing at all.

A world-renowned physicist shares captivating stories about her life's pursuit to understand. She found hints of a hidden side to gravity at the particle level where Einstein's theory breaks down, leading her to develop a new theory of "massive gravity."

Yoshida discusses acoustic waves in five chapters: 1. general properties; 2. in fluid and solids; 3. in the air, including analyses of speech and music; 4. in solids; and 5. the transduction of acoustic signals. Chapter 6 presents several techniques used in engineering.

Harry Cliff, a physicist who does cutting-edge work on the Large Hadron Collider, provides a riveting look at the universe's most confounding puzzles. With wonder, clarity, and a dose of humor, Cliff investigates the question: are these anomalies accidents of nature, or could they be pointing us toward vast, hidden worlds?

Devoted to the solution of one general problem of the theory of a three-dimensional quasi-stationary sinusoidal and pulse electromagnetic field.

Covers some fundamental aspects and frontiers in non-equilibrium physics and soft matter research, with particular attention to new conceptual flexible functional materials and the enriching areas, such as silk meso-molecular materials, molecular gels, liquid crystals, flexible electronics and new types of catalysis, etc.

Offers a history of the instrumentation used to materialize the early thought experiments devised in the Einstein-Bohr disputes over the foundations of quantum mechanics and shows how the WWII and the Cold War fostered the development of quantum instruments.

Presents mathematical modelling of physical systems by combined approach based on field theory, circuit theory and signal processing.

Quantum information processing offers fundamental improvements over classical information processing, but the best way to create practical devices is not yet known. This textbook describes the techniques that are likely to be used in implementing optical quantum information processors.

Dissatisfied and underemployed, an eccentric group of physicists in Berkeley, California, banded together in the 1970s, dubbing themselves the "Fundamental Fysiks Group," to pursue a wild approach to physics through the lens of Eastern mysticism and mind-reading, discussing the latest research while lounging in hot tubs, laying the groundwork for modern quantum theory.

A series of engaging essays that explore iconic moments of discovery and debate in physicists' ongoing quest to understand the quantum world. The episodes span the heady 1920s, the dark days of the 1930s, the turbulence of the Cold War, and the peculiar political realities that followed.

Quantum mechanics and machine learning may seem theoretically disparate, but their link becomes clear through the density matrix operator which can be readily approximated by neural network models, permitting a formulation of quantum physics in which physical observables can be computed via neural networks.

Covers fundamental principles and introduces novel problem-solving techniques for applications in atomic, molecular, and optical sciences, as well as condensed matter and nuclear physics. Relevant for studying atomic structure, dynamics, spectroscopy, or introductory quantum information processing.

Discover the fascinating world of optimal mass transport, a field with connections to calculus of variations, partial differential equations, and geometric analysis. In this graduate-level introduction, Maggi explores theoretical foundations and key ideas, focusing on Euclidean settings to build geometric intuition and provide a strong foundation for readers.

Background independence is often hailed as the defining characteristic of general relativity, and a crucial aspect of any candidate quantum extension. In this thought-provoking book, James Read explores various definitions of background independence and evaluates its presence in both classical and quantum theories of gravity.
Also available in print.

Great Mysteries in Astrophysics delves into the most intriguing gaps in our understanding of the universe. From dark matter to the enigma of black holes, this book explores the cosmic puzzles that continue to captivate astronomers and scientists alike.
Also available in print.

Comprehensive introduction to renormalization group theory of tensor network states. This theory provides a powerful tool for studying quantum many-body problems and a new paradigm for understanding entangled structures of complex systems.

Drawing on centuries of disputation and vision, Halpern reveals the variety of multiverses that scientists and popular culture have imagined to make sense of our reality.

Benioff builds on the idea that the entity that gives substance to both math and physics is the fundamental field, the so-called 'value field'. While exploring this idea, he notes the similarities the value field shares with mysterious phenomena in modern physics such as the Higgs field, and dark energy.

Comprehensive exploration of intrinsic and extrinsic interactions on graphene's properties, with coverage of topics such as long-range Coulomb interactions, dynamic charge density waves, Friedel oscillations, plasmon excitations, and topological properties of quasiparticles.

With the advent of advanced sources, computing, and algorithms, the Atomic Pair Distribution Function (PDF) analysis of powder diffraction is now useful for studying the structure of nanocrystals, clusters and molecules, nanoporous materials, and local distortions and defects in crystals. This book addresses a gap in knowledge when using PDF to extract structural information by modeling.

Explores the construction of witness operators to detect and quantify quantum multiparticle entanglement based on the fidelity of pure states that mathematically relies on the Schmidt decomposition of vectors.

Contributions from active research groups covering several classes of materials and processes, including: nano-structured plasmonic and photonic materials, 2-D materials, photo-polymers, liquid crystals, photo-sensitive and opto-thermal, and other specially engineered materials.

Brings together philosophers and physicists to explore the parallels between Quantum Bayesianism, or QBism, and the phenomenological tradition. It is the first book exclusively devoted to phenomenology and quantum mechanics.

Covers a number of a rapidly growing areas of knowledge that may be termed as diffractive nanophotonics. It also discusses in detail photonic components that may find uses in sensorics and optical transformations.

Covers the basics of quantum mechanics and machine learning before exploring: non-classical state representations, with squeezers and beam splitters; boson sampling with neural network models; an overview of quantum computing platforms, and neural network models as a variational ansatz for many-body Hamiltonian ground states with applications to Ising machines and solitons.

Contains foundational topics associated with optical spectroscopic techniques, covering the basic theory of applied spectroscopy and presenting alternative approaches to understand physical processes such as electromagnetism, quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, molecular spectroscopy, optics, and radiation.

Systematic treatment of elastic, electric, and magnetic interactions in solids, including viscoelasticity, electrical conduction, the electromagnetic body force, and a multi-continuum model.

Explores the synthesis, characterization, and applications of graphene and its derivatives. Topics covered include functionalized graphene, graphene quantum dots, novel device fabrication approaches, and diverse applications.

Covers the essential topics of heat transfer, starting with an introduction that explains its relationship to thermodynamics and fluid mechanics and continuing on to key topics such as free convection, boiling and condensation, radiation, heat exchangers, and more.

Begins with rederivations of elementary results of electrostatics and magnetostatics, then covers electrodynamics in material media. This includes Maxwell's equations in material media, frequency dependent response of materials and Kramers-Kronig relations, electromagnetic waves in materials, and scattering of electromagnetic radiation.

This publication is devoted to modern theoretical and applied research in condensed matter physics and applied engineering materials.

The father of fiber optics, Narinder Singh Kapany was also an inventor, art collector, sculptor, farmer, entrepreneur, teacher, and a successful businessman. His life, illuminated in his singular memoir, is a life like no other

Overview of the broad range of applications of spin glasses, the anomalous magnetic response of certain magnetic alloys. 30+ contributions are compiled, written by many leading researchers over the last few decades.

An exploration of AI's interpretation of the Standard Model and the troubling cosmological phenomenology on dark matter and dark energy. Many AI conjectures and validations ultimately make a lot of sense, even if their boldness does not feel altogether "human" yet.

Quantum physicist Shohini Ghose brings together the stories of women physicists and astronomers from around the world to celebrate their indelible scientific contributions. Her Space, Her Time is a collective story of scientific innovation, inspirational leadership, and overcoming invisibility.

A stunning and inspiring memoir charting a life as an astronomer, classically-trained actor, mother, and Black woman in STEM, searching for life in the universe while building a meaningful life here on Earth. It is about the possibility of living between multiple worlds and not choosing--but instead charting a new path entirely.

Honest and empowering memoir of overcoming misogyny and racism, anxiety and self-doubt, cancer diagnoses and recovery, to thrive as a woman of color in the field of astrophysics.

Comprehensive and pedagogical introduction to supersymmetry and spinor techniques in quantum field theory, with many examples of practical calculations relevant for collider physics signatures, anomalies, and radiative corrections.

The riveting story of a modern age scientific feud between two Nobel Prize-winning scientists over the nature of cosmic rays and the universe: Robert Millikan (1868-1953) and Arthur Compton (1892-1962).

Focuses on physical interpretation and visualization of the obtained invariant solutions for nonlinear mathematical modeling of atmospheric and ocean waves. Blends analytical and numerical methods, complemented by the author's work in ocean and atmospheric science.

Symmetry and its various realizations have played a pivotal role in the development of the extremely well tested Standard Model of the strong, weak and electromagnetic interactions. In this Element, the author traces the development of the model through the interplay of the different symmetries realized in the various components of the model as well as in other sub-fields of physics.

Lively and easy-to-read textbook which covers the major developments in low-temperature physics and technology, and includes an extensive compilation of materials data and relevant new results from thermometry and materials properties.
Also available in print.

Essential resource for mechanical, aerospace, and chemical engineers working on research in the fields of heat transfer, thermal management of electronics, and tribology; and researches in thermal physics.
Also available in print.

Notable for its original problems focused on real applications, with many addressing published data in accompanying tables and figures, taken from the notes of John David Jackson, author of the renowned Classical Electrodynamics.

Reviews the current state of affairs on both the philosophy and the application of gauge symmetries, with particular focus on the circumstances in which the restriction of gauge theories to gauge invariant information on an observable level is warranted.

Comprehensive introduction to the quantum nature of light, from field quantization, atom-field interactions, and quantum coherence theory, to applications of current research such as quantum interferometry, squeezed light, quantum entanglement, cavity quantum electrodynamics, laser-cooled trapped ions, and quantum information processing.

Detailed introduction to quantum theory that covers both physical and information-theoretic aspects, with a particular focus on the concept of entanglement and its characteristics, variants, and applications.

Comprehensive treatment of partial discharge behavior, measurement techniques, and monitoring strategies. It covers major advancements in the field, explores insulation failure mechanisms, and discusses denoising of measurement data.

Examines the deep connections between the theory of knots, certain phases of matter, and quantum computation. This book elucidates this nexus, drawing in topics ranging from quantum gravity to topology to experimental condensed matter physics.

Describes gravity as a byproduct of the geometry of spacetime, introducing the principle of equivalence and the universality of gravitational interactions. Covers topics ranging from geodesics and manifolds to the Einstein field equations, gravitational waves, black holes, and cosmology.
Also available in print.

Covers topics such as distribution functions, classical transport of charges, the Boltzmann equation for dilute gases, Brownian motion, plasmas, quantum gases, electronic transport in solids, and numerical methods for kinetic theory.
Also available in print.

Covers laser physics, including the interaction of radiation and matter. It discusses various types of lasers (solid-state, semiconductor, and gas lasers). The authors blend fundamental physics with practical applications, covering topics such as high-power fiber lasers, femtosecond lasers, and X-ray lasers.
Also available in print.

Explains physical phenomena in nanoelectronic structures, focusing on low-temperature effects where thermal noise doesn’t fully suppress interesting physics. Topics covered include semiclassical theory of electron transport, quantum interference effects, superconductivity, graphene, and nanoelectromechanics.
Also available in print.

Exploration of the fundamental optical gain and carrier recombination processes in quantum wells and quantum dots. The book covers common device structures, operating characteristics, and includes illustrations and exercises to enhance understanding.
Also available in print.

Covers band theory, electronic properties, and quantum-mechanical training; emphasizes vocabulary related to electronic, optical, and structural properties.

Shows that quantum mechanics equations emerge from general symmetry considerations, avoiding artificial quantization rules. Covers rotation invariance, irreducible tensor operators, the Wigner–Eckart theorem, and Lie groups, essential for understanding nuclear physics, quantum optics, and solid-state physics.

Explores the philosophical implications of modern cosmology, focusing on the significance of the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe. It delves into topics related to time, geometry, and physics in light of this cosmic phenomenon.
Also available in print.

Introduction to the basic ideas of quantum mechanics, covers formalism, exactly solvable problems, approximation techniques, and advanced topics.

Applies classical analytical mechanics to quantum physics, and covers topics such as mathematical background, deductive approaches, pedagogical features, and even introduces Quantum Systems Engineering for applied quantum technology development.

Includes topics such as rotational, vibrational, Raman, and electronic spectroscopy, as well as nuclear magnetic resonance and Mossbauer spectroscopy. The book assumes readers are familiar with physics fundamentals and aims to provide a comprehensive understanding of spectroscopic techniques

Explores methodologies, techniques, and devices used to address polarization issues in optical communication and sensor systems, including parameter measurement, characterization technologies, and the utilization of polarization for solving problems and enabling new capabilities in communications and sensing.

Discusses the computational approach in modern statistical physics. It focuses on subjects such as the hard sphere liquid, classical spin models, single quantum particles, and Bose-Einstein condensation. The book synthesizes theory with computational techniques, covering topics like molecular dynamics, Monte Carlo methods, and linear-response theory.

Covers fundamental concepts of vectors and their applications and discusses algebraic operations, Levi-Civita notation, curvilinear coordinate systems (such as spherical polar and parabolic systems), and analytical geometry of curves and surfaces.

Focusing on the probabilistic structure of quantum mechanics and the central role of symmetries, guides readers through the logical development of the theory and delves into past interpretations and current debates on concepts such as quantum information, entanglement, open quantum systems, and quantum measurement theory.

Expert overview of color engineering, including color reproduction, measurement, appearance, and the methods employed. The book also discusses technologies responsible for reproducing color across various devices and color management systems. Notably, it introduces the new ICC.2 architecture and handling HDR images.

Robust exploration of ferrimagnetics and their applications that delves into the fundamental properties of ferrite systems, including their structure, chemistry, and magnetism. The book covers the latest processing methodologies and emphasizes the unique properties that result. It’s an essential resource for RF engineers, magnetitians, and scientists interested in ferrite materials and emerging technologies.