Top Physics & Astronomy Databases
- arXiv This link opens in a new windowarXiv is an eprint service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
- MathSciNet (1940 - ) via American Mathematical Society (AMS) This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new windowIf you receive an error message and cannot access the database, try clearing your browser cache and cookies. Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature. Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Libraries subscribe to Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1970-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScience Direct offers access to over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. While this database is best known for its collections in Science, Technology and Medicine, there is also strong coverage of journals in Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Click on Search to search all titles.
Preprint Databases
A preprint is a journal article in draft form, before peer review. A postprint is a journal article after it has gone through peer review. Both of these types of documents are known collectively as eprints.
ePrints allow you to access the latest research, without having to wait for a paper to be peer reviewed, accepted and published. They foster broad collaborations, improve the speed of research, and provide greater transparency of the scholarly communication cycle.
- Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new windowThe Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a grant from NASA.
- INSPIRE (HEP) This link opens in a new windowINSPIRE is a hub for researchers in high energy physics comprising literature, conferences, institutions, journals, researchers, experiments, jobs and data. Run in collaboration by CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, IN2P3, and SLAC.
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)Database of aerospace-related citations, journal articles, research reports, conference papers, meeting papers, patents, images, and videos created or funded by NASA.
- CERN Document ServerThe CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research) document server allows searching (and access) to preprints, as well as theses, reports, published articles, archives, and more. Allows multisearch with CERN Indico, KISS, and SPIRES.
- OSF Preprints This link opens in a new windowOSF Preprints is a preprints discovery site, where you can search the 1,000+ preprints on OSF, and also preprints on partner sites such as arXiv, AgriXiv, engrXiv, PsyArXiv and SocArXiv. Preprints may be deposited free of charge, and all published preprints may be downloaded free of charge.
- Optica OpenPreprint server through the Optica Publishing Group that hosts submissions dedicated to advancing optics and photonics. Launched in January 2023.