Research Guides: A Guide to Physics Resources: Archives

About University Archives

University Archives (WUA) is comprised of more than 300 unique collections. Chronicling the history of the University from 1853 to today, the Archives is a wealth of primary sources and other historical materials that include paper documents and manuscripts, newspapers, photographic prints and negatives, books, films, videos, sound recordings, microfilm, architectural plans, artifacts, and digital assets.

Most archival material is not available online. But the finding aids (inventories of the collections' materials) are available online. You can browse finding aids for physics-related collections below, or by searching finding aids in ArchivesSpace:

Search the University Archives Collections on ArchivesSpace

Archives materials can be viewed by appointment only in the Julian Edison Department of Special Collections in Olin Library. You may also place a request for digital reproduction of archival material. Please see the Special Collections Research and Access page for up-to-date information.

Special Collections Research & Access
Special Collection hours, policies, procedures, forms, and more.
Tips for Navigating Washington University Archives
One-page quick tips for getting the most from your visit to any archive
Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research
By Laura Schmidt, Society of American Archives (SAA)

Please contact Special Collections to arrange your visit or with reference questions by email (spec@wumail.wustl.edu) or via telephone at (314) 935-5495; you may also reach Special Collections by text message at (314) 309-3411.

Physics Collections in University Archives

Department of Physics Records (1923-2005)
Consists of 20 VHS and DVDs of physics lectures and colloquia, photographs of Physics Department faculty and staff, and documents related to department history.
Alexander Langsdorf, Jr. Papers (1934-1983)
Consists of two boxes that chronicle Langsdorf’s research in experimental nuclear physics, the birth of the atomic age, and the legacy of McCarthyism. The material is arranged alphabetically by subject.
Arthur Holly Compton Personal Papers (1905-1971)
Consists of personal correspondence files, lecture and research notes, diaries and journals, publications, biographical data and memorabilia.
Arthur Hughes Papers (1906-1989)
Contains correspondence, notes, photographs, clippings and announcements, and cassette tapes.
Dan Bolef Papers (1946-1987)
Contains course notebooks from Bolef’s graduate studies, and research related papers from his work at Westinghouse; of note are research materials related to masers. Laboratory manuals and other teaching materials, professional correspondence, grant proposals, and other papers related to Bolef’s time in the Physics Department at Washington University are also part of the collection. There is also a large group of materials related to arms control, nuclear energy and proliferation, Vietnam, the draft, civil rights, and other social issues covering the 1960s through the early 1980s.
David Hughes Papers (1943-1995)
Consists of photocopies of a personal log maintained by Hughes during his flight training at naval air stations in Pensacola and Jacksonville, Florida, and in San Diego, California, from April 18, 1943, to April 10, 1944. Also included are a photocopy of an additional short story written by Hughes, photographs, and copies of Washington University Magazine featuring articles concerning Hughes personal log.
Edwin T. Jaynes Papers (1946-1998)
Consists of material from Jaynes’ time as a professor at Washington University, his research, and material from his research at other institutions. It also contains physics papers written by other authors, correspondence, and personal material.
Eugene E. Brucker Papers (1947-1963)
Consists of engineering-related class notebooks and instruction manuals during his time as a student at Washington University in St. Louis from 1947/1948 through 1950/1951.
Eugene Feenberg Papers (1935-1977)
Consists of the papers, notes, and correspondence of Eugene Feenburg.
Francis E. Nipher Collection (1872-1920)
Includes correspondence, diaries, photographs, and publications by Nipher and others, nine volumes of Missouri Weather Service data notebooks, and four glass plate negatives. The publications are arranged alphabetical by author, then alphabetical by title.
Frederic Aldin Hall Personal Papers (1897-1970)
Include lectures, speeches, notes, travel accounts, and publications by Hall.
Michael W. Friedlander Papers (1861-2014)
Consists of a broad range of materials including correspondence and publications, course content and teaching materials, research related information and photographs, and a variety of audiovisual materials related to Washington University, its Physics Department, and the life and work of Michael Wulf Friedlander.
Robert M. Walker Papers (1955-1999)
Documents the professional life of Robert M. Walker. The materials include some biographical information, in addition to early career material. The bulk of the collection regards Robert Walker's career at Washington University, including course notes, papers, notebooks, and other materials.
Washington University Building Information Files (1892-present)
Includes material relating to the buildings of Washington University, including the laying of cornerstones, biographical information regarding individuals and organizations that buildings are named for, and other general reference materials.
Washington University Cyclotron Records (1940-1985)
Covers information about the cyclotron built on the Danforth Campus in 1940 and subsequent redesigns of the cyclotron. It also includes information on the preliminary work towards the Positron Emission Transaxial Tomography Scanners (commonly abbreviated PET) at the School of Medicine. The collection does not include specific information about the cyclotrons at the School of Medicine.
Washington University Technology Associates Records (1962-1989)
In 1973, the Washington University Department of Physics endeavored to collaboratively combine the technical skills of its faculty with the subject expertise of art historians and archaeologists.

Named the Washington University Center for Archaeometry, this highly experimental marriage of disciplines sought to deliberately document, restore, and preserve both the physical and the intellectual properties of precious works of art.

Through a succession of surveys, technical examinations, conservation treatments, educational programs, research, and publications, the Washington University Center for Archaeometry was soon recognized as a leading authority in the conservation of bronze outdoor sculpture.

In 1976, the Washington University Center for Archaeometry became a profit-driven organization and was renamed “Washington University Technology Associates, Inc.”