A Guide to Philosophy-Neuroscience-Psychology (PNP) Resources

The third edition of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source covering every aspect of its wide-ranging field. In 3,250 entries the Dictionary spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, andsociolinguistics. Clear examples - and diagrams where appropriate - help to convey the meanings of even the most technical terms. It also incorporates entries on key scholars of linguistics, both ancient and modern, summarising their specialisms and achievements.With existing entries thoroughly revised and updated, and the addition of 100 new entries, this new edition expands its coverage of semantics, as well as recently emerging terminology within, for example, syntactic theory and sociolinguistics.Wide-ranging and with clear definitions, it is the ideal reference for students and teachers in language-related courses, and a great introduction to linguistics for the general reader with an interest in language and its study.

This alphabetical guide to language and mind gives an up-to-date introduction to the key topics of speech comprehension, speech production and child language. Written by a well-known author in the field, the entries are concise and lucid, and provide an easy-to-read overview of an area of linguistics which lies at the core of the human ability to use language.

The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Linguistics encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics. Entries of up to four thousand words survey the major fields of study, while shorter entries treat specific topics, define and discuss technical terms and provide sketches of the careers of important scholars in the history of linguistics. A major emphasis of the work is its extensive coverage of languages from allcorners of the world. Language lists attached to each article on a language group or family enumerate all languages, extinct or still spoken, and provide detailed information on the number of known speakers,geographical range, and degree of intelligibility with other languages in the group. Each article in the Encyclopedia is supported by up-to-date bibliographies, and is readily accessible via a system of cross-references, a detailed index and synoptic outline. Line drawings, maps, tables, and diagrams are generously employed to illustrate the text of many articles. Authoritative, comprehensive, and innovative, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Linguisticswill be an indispensable addition to personal, public, academic, and research libraries and will introduce a new generation of readers to the complexities and concerns of this field of study.

Thirty-eight chapters, commissioned from experts all over the world, describe major concepts, methods, and applications in computational linguistics. Part I, Linguistic Fundamentals, provides an overview of the field suitable for senior undergraduates and non-specialists from other fields oflinguistics and related disciplines. Part II describes current tasks, techniques, and tools in Natural Language Processing and aims to meet the needs of post-doctoral workers and others embarking on computational language research. Part III surveys current Applications.The book is a state-of-the-art reference to the one of the most active and productive fields in linguistics. It will be of interest and practical use to a wide range of linguists, as well as to researchers in such fields as informatics, artificial intelligence, language engineering, and cognitivescience.

This new and expanded edition of The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics brings together the views of over 80 experts in various domains of psycholinguistic research, offering a comprehensive and authoritative review of the field. With contributions from the fields of psychology, linguistics, cognitive neuroscience, attention, genetics, development, and neuropsychology divided into five themed sections, this new edition of The Oxford Handbook ofPsycholinguistics is unparalleled in its breadth of coverage. The comprehensive nature of this book coupled with the accessibility of the short chapter format makes this handbook essential readingfor students and researchers in the fields of psychology, linguistics and neuroscience.