Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion and Social Justice in America

Primary and secondary sources related to social justice in 19th and 20th century America

Social Justice & 19th Century Unitarian Church

Reverend William Greenleaf Eliot, a Unitarian Minister, co-founded Washington University and was involved in many reform efforts including:

  • Abolition and Emancipation
  • Women's Rights (voting, education, equality, against prostitution)
  • Laborer's Rights
  • Temperance Advocate (anti-alcohol)

Reverand Eliot's personal notebooks, correspondence, sermons, articles, phootgraphs, and more available to resarchers at University Archives.

For more information about the collection, and links to documents accessible on-line, see:

Social Justice: Equality and Civil Rights

Finding aids to materials in WU Special Collections:

Religion and LGBTQ Rights

Finding aids to materials in WU Special Collections:

Social Justice: Housing and Social Welfare

Finding aid to materials in WU Special Collections:

Social Justice: Science & Religion

Finding aid to materials in University Archives:

Social Justice: Protesting war and the draft

On-Line Primary Sources

Full-Text Databases:(Requires WUSTL log-in if accessed off campus):
Full-text materials available from various sources, freely available: