School of Law students have access to the Library 24 hours a day.  When classes are in session the 4^th floor main entrance is open, the Library is staffed, and Circulation and Reserve services are available during the following Regular Hours hours: 

Regular Hours:

Special Hours: Changes to this schedule will be posted at the entrance of the Law Library. To confirm hours on any day, call the Library at 314-935-6450.

After Hours Access: Law students have 24/7 swipe card access to the Law School and Law Library.

1. After closing time, someone might ask to see your law school ID ... please pretend they are the hiring partner where you would like a job.
2. After closing time, reserve items will not be available and study rooms will be available on a first come, first served basis.

As a Washington University law student you have access to a huge number of databases in addition to the comprehensive legal research databases Westlaw, Lexis & Bloomberg Law. These include databases for researching legal periodicals, Congressional documents, Supreme Court Records & Briefs, historical records, and subject specific legal topics.

► Law Library Databases by subject

► A-Z Law Library Databases  

► All WU Databases

The Classic Catalog includes records for all materials (books, journals, treatises, e-subscriptions, etc. in the Law Library and any WashU Library on the Danforth Campus. 

You may request that a book be delivered to the Law Library by clicking on the "Request" button and entering your WUSTL Key information.  Be sure to choose the Washington University Law Library as your 'pick-up' location.  You may also go to the holding library with your WU ID to check the material out immediately.
See Circulation Policies for more information.
 

Quick Search includes everything in the Classic Catalog PLUS articles from many journals, newspapers and magazines, and the WashU Open Scholarship repository.

 

Mobius is like the Classic Catalog except it also has books from participating libraries across Missouri.

To check out a book from a Mobius library, click on 'Request". Choose the WASH U Cluster and enter your WUSTL Key information. Be sure to choose the option that specifies the Law Library as your desired pick-up location.

If you are interested in borrowing a book from a library not discussed above, please see the information on Interlibrary Loan below.  

Can't find the book or article you need on WU campus or in a Mobius library? Use Interlibrary Loan to borrow it from libraries around the nation!

If a book or article you want is not available at any WU Library, you may request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Before you make an ILL request, please make sure the item is not available on campus or through Mobius.Interlibrary loan.  Books can take anywhere from 1 - 4 weeks to arrive, so plan ahead!

 Journal/Law Review Members: Please see your publication's instructions about how to request items not available on campus. 

Frequently-used items are placed on Reserve.  These include current reference materials, current periodicals & print items for courses. Since these items are in high demand, they may only be checked-out for two hours (library use only) and renewed one time.  Some Reserve materials may be checked out overnight: they go out one hour before closing and are due the next day within one hour of the library opening.

- Print Reserves: Some materials are available only in print and must be checked out at the Circulation Desk. Use the Course Reserves page, to find print items placed on reserve for a class.

- Electronic Reserves for Law School classes:  See your Canvas Course Page. 

Practice (old) Exams: This collection is mostly old. Please check with your instructor or on your class Canvas page for more current files. 

The Reference Librarians are here to help you get the most out of your legal research.

How to FIND US:

CALI, a non-profit consortium of law schools, has developed an extensive library of lessons designed to enhance the student’s learning experience.

To access the online CALI lessons:

1. Go to www.CALI.org and click on Register.

2. Authorization Code:: Check your email; or ask a Law Librarian; or ask at the Law Circulation Desk.