Books
Note: Worldcat will not show if WU has ebook access. Copy/paste title into WU Catalog.
Encyclopedia of Semiotics
Encyclopedia of Semiotics by ISBN: 9780195120905Publication Date: 1998-09-10Three hundred entries by leading scholars in a variety of fields--from anthropology and literary theory to linguistics and philosophy--survey the study of signs and symbols in human culture in this new work. The articles cover key concepts, theories, theorists, schools, and issues incommunications, cognition, and cultural theory. From introductions to Barthes and Bakhtin to analyses of gossip and myth, this is a valuable reference for students and scholars.
Framing Your Topic or Theme
Framing your topic
Topic: 1904 World's Fair in St. Louis
Scope: race, anthropological exhibits, imperialism, WUSTL, sport or Olympics, sculpture and arts and crafts
Background Sources
Use background sources such as encyclopedias or book chapters to get an overview of your topic and discover ideas for narrowing. 
Possible search terms: Louisiana Purchase Exposition, World's fair St. Louis, world's fair
Encyclopedia Resources:
- Oxford Reference Online (5 users) This link opens in a new windowContains almost 200 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- WikipediaOpen-collaborative online encyclopedia. Check the categories section at the bottom of the article, in addition to the sources.