Digital Images
St. Louis Modern
St. Louis Modern by Call Number: Art Library N6535.S275 S74 2015ISBN: 9780891780748Publication Date: 2015-09-01
St. Louis Culture and Events
- Explore St. LouisThe St. Louis Convention & Visitors Commission
FIMo - Fire Insurance Maps (geo-referenced)
- Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo) This link opens in a new windowA research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information. This subscription includes Illinois and Missouri. Learn more about this database
St. Louis Archival Sources
1904 World's Fair - archives, museums, secondary sources (books, articles)
Archival guides
Books
Primary Sources - Newspapers
As of January 2021 only one newspaper (St. Louis Post-Dispatch) is available in searchable full-text online:
- Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1874 - 2003) This link opens in a new windowContains full text of the newspaper St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003 including its title variants. Learn more about this database
- St. Louis Newspapers (mainstream / white)Listing of other newspapers, on microfilm, in print, or partly digitized.
As of January 2021, no St. Louis African American / Black focused newspapers are available in digital format. As an alternative, online access and full-text search is available for the noted African American newspaper, Chicago Defender, which often covered national news as well as Midwest / St. Louis news:
- Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-2010) This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of Chicago's politics, society and events of the time.
- St. Louis Newspapers (African American / Black focused)Links to microfilm and paper sources at WashU Libraries
Publications focused on and published by the LGBTQ+ / Queer communities began in 1970. None of these are keyword searchable, but some selections have been digitized:
- St. Louis LGBTQ+ newspapers and newslettersTitles available at WashU Libraries and other local archives.
Books on the 1904 World's Fair
Washington University in St. Louis : its design and architecture by Call Number: LD5793 .P43Includes "Serendipity at the Fair: Washington University and the Louisiana Purchase Exposition of 1904" by Pickens (starting on page 51) and map showing original buildings of WU campus at the fair
All the world's a fair : visions of empire at American international expositions, 1876-1916 by Call Number: T395.5 U6 R93 1984Publication Date: 1984Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1984
From the palaces to the pike : visions of the 1904 World's Fair by Call Number: T860.B1 F69 1997
Anthropology goes to the fair : the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition by Call Number: E76.85 .P37 2007
