Photo credit: Luke Chesser.
Viability in the BMC
Viability in the Business Model Canvas:
Cost Structure-Revenue Streams
VIABILITY IN THE BUSINESS MODEL CANVAS
COST STRUCTURE
The cost structure is tracked and calculated by taking into account the prices paid for key resources and key partnerships. The databases used to populate those tiles can also be used to estimate the cost structure.
REVENUE STREAMS
Revenue streams are the income that can be generated from customer segments. Research related to revenue streams may initially involve an exploration of the many different types of revenue streams such as sales, rentals, subscriptions, freemium subscriptions, licensing, or advertising. Researching revenue forecasting models and methods may also be useful as might diving into studies about consumers willingness to pay.
Ebooks on PricingHere is just a sampling of books on pricing approaches.
Ebooks on ForecastingHere are a sampling of books on business forecasting.
TOP DOWN COSTS & REVENUEUsing a top down approach to estimating revenue and expenses will not be sufficient for drawing a business model canvas, but it may be instructive. Surveys about what businesses by industry or category spend and average financial statements and ratios may serve as benchmarks.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Portal for business and industry, government, and demographic statistics that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from some 18,000+ public and commercial sources onto a single, easy-to-search platform. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to qualitative facts on agriculture, economics, finance, information technology, politics and society, and much more.
- IBISWorld (includes Benchmarking Pro Suite) This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld provides access to over 700 United States industries. There are also many other reports such as the new “Global” Industry Reports covering world industry analysis. In addition to the core Industry Report product, they also publish over 700 US Industry Risk Rating Reports, over 700 Industry Profiles as well as hundreds of Economic and Demographic Profiles.
- CB Insights This link opens in a new windowCB Insights is an information services firm tracking private companies and their investors (venture capital, angel investors, private equity, etc) as well as private company M&A activity. CB Insights data covers multiple sectors including technology (internet, mobile, software, hardware, semiconductors, etc), green tech / clean tech and life sciences (medical devices, healthcare IT, biotech, etc). NOTE: Users will first need to create a free account using their WUSTL key.
- S&P Capital IQ (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School) This link opens in a new window
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane; 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2020, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Capital IQ account.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
A database of over 60 million businesses and more than 302 million consumers. Business listings include such data as company names, phone numbers, complete addresses, key executive names, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, contact details, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores. Residential information is compiled from more than 5,200 White Page telephone directories and census data.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.