Social science data in machine readable form, including election results, polls, surveys, and census. Access is due to the Washington University’s membership in the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Download data and electronic codebooks directly from the ICPSR web site to any University IP address or by using the Olin Library proxy server. The Social Sciences Computing Facility in Eliot Hall will provide technical support for those who need assistance in obtaining data.
The data and research section allows users to browse development indicators by country. It also has reports that provide global and regional summaries of indicators about a specific development topic (e.g., environment)
A fully web-based online data and mapping application that provides over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
A detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to 2000. Explore Census data visually through the use of interactive data maps and also browse and download Census data in convenient formats for offline processing.
Circos is a software package for visualizing data and information. It visualizes data in a circular layout — this makes Circos ideal for exploring relationships between objects or positions. There are other reasons why a circular layout is advantageous, not the least being the fact that it is attractive.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is an independent national statistical agency that serves as the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. It collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor. An online glossary explains terms as BLS uses them. Learn more about this database
A web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs. By incorporating diaries, biographies, and other writings capturing diverse experiences, the collected material provides a window into the lives of ordinary immigrants.
A collection of statistical data from around the world, collected between 1750-2010 and covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania.
"Labour statistics play an essential role in the efforts of member States to achieve decent work for all and for the ILO's support of these efforts. These statistics are needed for the development and evaluation of policies towards this goal and for assessing progress towards decent work. They are also an important tool for information and analysis, helping to increase understanding of common problems, explain actions and mobilize interest." (from database homepage)
Covers corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime. Includes abstracts to Federal, State, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research. Learn more about this database
'USA Counties features over 6,300 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2010 population as well as many other items from the 2010 Census of Population and Housing , the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2007, 2002, 1997, and 1992 economic censuses. Information in USA Counties is derived from the following general topics: Accommodation and Food Services, Age, Agriculture, Ancestry, Banking, Building Permits, County Business Patterns, Civilian Labor Force, Crime, Earnings, Education, Elections, Employment, Government, Health, Hispanic or Latino, Households, Housing, Income, Manufactures, Nonemployer Statistics, Population, Poverty, Race and Hispanic Origin, Retail Trade, Social Programs, Survey of Business Owners, Taxes, Veterans, Vital Statistics, Water Use, and Wholesale Trade.' (from database homepage)
A compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. Also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions.