Suggestions
Subject Librarian
Michael Schaefer
Contact:
Washington University in St. Louis
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
Databases, Indexes, Bibliographies
See also discipline sources, e.g., if you are interested topics in the history of psychology, see the psychology research guide, etc. For fulltext, click on 
. More information about Get it! [Get it! may not be available in all the sources listed below.]
Tip: check out Research Alerts, a guide to creating automated alerts (email or RSS feeds) from databases, catalogs, search engines, and ejournals.
- Major HSMT databasesThis is a list of the most important tools.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Some other specialized sources:
- Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900Digitized version from Biodiversity Heritage Library.
Also available in Gallica digital library - Italian bibliography of the history of scienceIndexes the history of science writings published in Italy from 1982+; included in History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975-) (EBSCO)
- Medical Heritage LibraryMostly older digitized materials from several medical libraries; fulltext searchable.
- Oxford BibliographiesWU has American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Evolutionary Biology, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work
- Wellcome LibraryThe Image gallery is particularly useful.
- Embryo Project EncyclopediaShort referenced articles about people, places, organizations, technologies, organisms, concepts, contexts, literature, and images related to embryo research. Freely available.
- History of Medicine Finding Aids ConsortiumProvides keyword search services across a union catalog of descriptions of primary source materials found in special collections and archives throughout the U.S.
Selected journals for browsing
Digitization of older materials is producing useful collections, searchable and available fulltext on the Internet; see Medical Heritage Library, Internet Archive, Biodiversity Heritage Library, Google Books, and much more.
- Bulletin of the history of medicine, 1996+Online 1996 to present; also Becker Medical Library has back volumes in paper.
- Isis - Journal of History of Science Society, 1913+Includes the Current bibliography of the history of science.