WU Library Catalog
Search for books using WashU Libraries' catalog.
Search Becker Medical Library Catalog
Search Google Books
Subject Librarian
John M. Olin Library
Research Center, 1st floor, Room 128
e. michaelschaefer@wustl.edu
p. 314-935-7365
Bestsellers in the History of Science
eBooks sources
Search in the Catalog or at eJournals & eBooks. Here are a few other sources to search for ebooks or digitized versions of older books.
Tip: check out Research Alerts, a guide to creating automated alerts (email or RSS feeds) from databases, catalogs, search engines, and ejournals.
- Science / History titles in eBooks at EbscohostChange Relevance sort to Date newest for the latest additions.
- Springer EbooksWe have Biomedical & Life Sciences, Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics, and Medicine packages
- Safari Tech Books OnlineLimited to 8 users, please logoff when finished
- Selected Proquest Ebook Central titlesWUSTL key login required; WU users only
- Internet History of Science SourcebookCategorized links to many digitized books and other resources in the history of science
- Medical Heritage LibraryMostly older digitized materials from several medical libraries; fulltext searchable.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Learn more about this database.
- Archimedes ProjectIncludes numerous Greek, Medieval, and Renaissance treatises on mechanics. A testbed for developing and exploring model interactive environments for the history of mechanics.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1470 - 1700)
Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1470 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection. Learn more about this database.
- Early European Books Collection, series 1-4, 7 and 16
Drawn from major repositories including the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Wellcome Library in London. Offers a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Learn more about this database
Find book reviews
- Book Reviews and BibliographyA guide to reference sources for finding information on books.
Find dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Full Text
Citations, abstracts, or full-text access to dissertations and theses. Learn more about this database.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis (1996-)
Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. View 24-page previews of dissertations and theses and download the full text.
Selected ebooks
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific BiographyAll periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented
- Dictionary of the history of ideased. Philip P. Wiener (New York: Scribner's, 1975) Print version Olin Stacks CB5 .D52
- Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures2008. Springer. We also have a paper copy.
- Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences2009 ebook for WU users
- History of medicine, 2nd ed. MagnerEbook from Becker medical library accessible to all of WU
- History of neurologyHandbook of clinical neurology, v.95, 2009, edited by Stanley Finger, Francois Boller and Kenneth L. Tyler
- Philosophy of Science an EncyclopediaSahotra Sarkar, Jessica Pfeifer, editors Routledge, 2006. via Ebrary
- Sources and Studies in the History of Mathematics and Physical Sciences, 2005+WU does not have online access to all volumes.
A Literary History of Medicine - The ʿUyūn al-anbāʾ fī ṭabaqāt al-aṭibbāʾ of Ibn Abī Uṣaybiʿah Online offers a complete, annotated translation along with a new edition of the celebrated, informative and entertaining history of medicine – the first of its kind – by the Syrian physician Ibn Abī Uṣaybiʿah (d. 1270), together with several introductory essays. A Literary History of Medicine is the earliest comprehensive history of medicine. It contains biographies of over 432 physicians, ranging from the ancient Greeks to the author’s contemporaries, describing their training and practice, often as court physicians, and listing their medical works; all this interlaced with poems and anecdotes. The reader will find in this work an Islamic society that worked closely with Christians and Jews, deeply committed to advancing knowledge and applying it to health and wellbeing.