Academic Search Complete Project Muse Science Direct Journals JSTOR
Wiley Online Journals Social Science Database PubMed Central
Journal of Medicine and Philosophy - 01/01/1976 to 12/31/1995 in Oxford Journals 2018 Humanities Archive and Oxford Journals 2020 Medicine Archive
1996 to Present in Oxford Journals A-Z Collection
02/01/1997 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete
2004 to 2007 in Taylor & Francis Online
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine - 1957 to Present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Studies in History and Philosophy of Science. Part C, Studies in history and philosophy of biological and biomedical sciences - 03/01/1998 to Present in ScienceDirect Journals
Perspectives on Science - 03/01/1996 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete
03/01/1998 to Present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection
1999 to 2005 in MIT Press Journals
Philosophy of Science - 01/01/1934 to 12/31/2015 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences II
09/01/1993 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete
March 2002 to Present in University of Chicago Press Journals (Current access)
Social Science & Medicine - 1982 to 1994 in Backfile Package - Social Science (Legacy) [YST]
1995 to Present in ScienceDirect Journals
The Hastings Center Report - 06/01/1971 to 11/30/2017 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII
02/01/1988 to 09/30/2012 in Arts Premium Collection & Social Science Database
07/01/1990 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete
1996 to Present in Wiley Online Library All Journals
01/01/2005 to 12/31/2011 in Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics - 1993 to 2017 in HeinOnline Core U.S. Journals
03/01/1995 to Present in Academic Search Complete
09/01/1996 to 12/31/2007 in Arts Premium Collection, Criminal Justice Database, and Political Science Database
1997 to 2008 in Wiley Online Library All Journals
03/01/1998 to 12/31/2017 in Gale Health and Wellness
02/28/2000 to Present in Nexis Uni
Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal - 03/01/1991 to Present in Project MUSE - Premium Collection
12/01/2002 to 1 year ago in Arts Premium Collection and Social Science Database
BioSocieties - 03/01/2006 to 1 year ago in Social Science Database & Sociology Database
03/01/2010 to 12/31/2010 in Academic Search Complete
American Journal of Public Health - 01/01/1971 to Present in American Public Health Association
1971 to 24 months ago in PubMed Central
08/01/1971 to Present in SocINDEX with Full Text
01/01/1975 to Present in Academic Search Complete
01/01/1992 to Present in Political Science Database and Social Science Database
01/01/1997 to Present in Factiva Limited to six concurrent users; please logout when finished.
11/01/1998 to Present in Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Health Affairs - 01/01/1981 to 1 year ago in Political Science Database and Social Science Database
11/01/1981 to 3 years ago in HighWire Press (Free Journals)
Winter 1981 to Present in Single Journals
01/01/2003 to 03/02/2009 in Academic Search Complete
Annual Review of Public Health - 1980 to 5 years ago in Annual Reviews Back Volumes
04/01/1997 to 04/30/2005 in Academic Search Complete
2006 to Present in Annual Reviews
Science - 07/03/1880 to 12/18/2015 in JSTOR Life Sciences
01/01/1988 to 12/23/2005 in Education Database
1997 to Present in HighWire Press
Journal of General Internal Medicine - 01/01/1997 to Present in SpringerLink Contemporary
1997 to 1 year ago in PubMed Central
PLoS Medicine - 2004 to Present in PubMed Central
10/01/2004 to Present in Academic Search Complete
eLife - 2012 to Present in Directory of Open Access Journals and PubMed Central
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - 1998 to Present in Cochrane Library
The New England Journal of Medicine - 01/01/1990 to Present in Single Journals
Lancet - 1823 to 1994 in Backfile Package - The Lancet [YTL]
1995 to Present in ScienceDirect Journals
Nature - 1869 to 1923 in Biodiversity Heritage Library
01/01/1987 to Present in Nature Journals Online
06/05/1997 to 11/27/2015 in Academic Search Complete
PhilPapers describes itself as "a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.." However, it has been criticized for relying on Web trawling techniques and crowd-sourcing to allegedly "monitor ALL sources of research content in philosophy" [emphasis mine]. It is, nonetheless, the largest index and open access e-print archive in philosophy. Further, as a bibliographical index, its entries are rationally organized in nested hierarchies so the user is not merely dependent on the keyword search function.
Philosophy of Science
PhilSci Archive - while Philpapers aims to be comprehensive across the field of philosophy, PhilSci Archive "is specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science." As an open access archive of preprints in philosophy of science, the archive is full-text and open access, but the articles have not necessarily been accepted for publication in peer-reviewed journals, and the archive will only host postprints published under a Creative Commons license. The archive also posts separate "publication" records, which informs users of the bibliographic information for and a link to the published version of a preprint already in the archive. Though not formally "peer-reviewed," the content is moderated by academic professionals.
PubMed (1946 - ) - includes over 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. Includes the entire Medline database (1966+) PLUS PreMedline (recent articles that are not yet fully indexed for Medline) and links to publisher full-text web sites and other databases.
JSTOR - multidisciplinary, a lot of full text articles, but subject headings are too broad
Academic Search Complete (1975-present) - multidisciplinary; subject headings may or may not be LCSH; also made by EBSCO, so overlaps with America: History & Life
JSTOR v. Academic Search Complete
Google Scholar - articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. While Google Scholar itself is free on the web, many of the citations it references are not.
Primo - is a "discovery tool" that searches WUSTL's library catalog as well as a number of newspaper and journal databases at one time, but it doesn't retrieve all of their content nor does it search all databases
Google Scholar v. Primo
Project MUSE - a comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
Scopus - The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers.