Afghan Red Crescent Society stamp commemorating Pierre and Marie Curie, 1963
Reference Works - A Place to Begin
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0792340663Publication Date: 2nd ed. (2008)as the title suggests, this encyclopedia is inclusive of scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. Each entry includes bibliographic reference to assist in further reading and sourcing.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0787618683Publication Date: 6th ed. (2020)Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons.
Health and Medicine Through History: From Ancient Practices to 21st-Century Innovations by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781440858918Publication Date: 2019-08-08This three-volume set provides a comprehensive yet concise global exploration of health and medicine from ancient times to the present day, helping readers to trace the development of concepts and practices around the world. From archaeological evidence of trepanning during prehistoric times to medieval Europe's conception of the four humors to present-day epidemics of diabetes and heart disease, health concerns and medical practices have changed considerably throughout the centuries. Health and Medicine through History: From Ancient Practices to 21st-Century Innovations is broken down into four distinct time periods: antiquity through the Middle Ages, the 15th through 18th centuries, the 19th century, and the 20th century and beyond. Each of these sections features the same 13-chapter structure, touching on a diverse array of topics such as women's health, medical institutions, common diseases, and representations of sickness and healing in the arts: vol.1. Antiquity through the 18th century; v.ol 2..19th through 21st centuries; vol. 3. Data and documents..Coverage is global, with the histories of the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Oceania compared and contrasted throughout. The book also features a large collection of primary sources, including document excerpts and statistical data.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780028660851Publication Date: 2007This new set provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. The work describes and analyzes the many aspects of the history of Europe's expansion overseas into the Americas, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century and the building and collapse of empires (Spanish, Portuguese, British, French, Dutch, German, American). Race relations in decolonized regions as well as current examples of continuing dependence by much of the developing world on Western nations are covered. In addition, a number of the more than 400 articles in the set address the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism, as well as the major and controversial issues at the core of the debate on colonialism and its consequences. Other features include a thematic outline for assistance in cross-curricular research, a glossary for quick reference and a handy subject index for easy navigation. The breadth and depth of coverage results in substantial geographic, historical, political, economic, social and cultural data.- The British Empire : an encyclopedia of the Crown's holdings, 1493 through 1995 byCall Number: DA16 S84 1996 Olin Library Level 3 StacksPublication Date: 1996At its height, the British Empire encompassed three-quarters of the world. Hundreds of countries came under the domination of the British Empire at various stages in history. From Aden to Zululand, all the crown's holdings from the beginning of the meaningfulness of the word "holdings," around 1493, through 1995, are included. Each possession is an entry: the date it became a part of the British Empire; the date it gained its independence (when appropriate); a description of its geographic location, and its capital; a history of British rule of the colony is followed by a listing of the British administrators, such as residents, governors, commissioners and ministers. There are extensive see references; a thorough index to alternate geographical or political names completes the work.
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0521332869Publication Date: 1993Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, this is the most comprehensive history of human disease since August Hirsch's monumental Handbook of Geographical and Historical Pathology in 1880. Accessible to laypeople and specialists alike, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease explores the patterns of disease throughout the world as well as the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight it. The volume traces the concept of disease as medicine developed from an art to a science, then addresses the history of disease in each major world region. The final and largest part offers the history and geography of each significant human disease - both historical and contemporary - from AIDS to yellow fever. A truly interdisciplinary history, it includes contributions from over 160 medical and social scientists from across the globe. Together with The Cambridge World History of Food (2000), The Cambridge World History of Human Disease provides an extraordinary glimpse of what is known about human health as the twenty-first century begins.- Journal of Medical Biography byfocuses on the lives of people in or associated with medicine, those considered legendary as well as the less well known. The journal includes much original research about figures from history and their afflictions.
A Biographical Encyclopedia of Medical Travel Authors by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780773436817Publication Date: 2010-04-25six volumes are made up of one-paragraph biographies of medical travel authors drawn from all peoples and regions of the world. The authors are included because they have published a book of travel or have left significant material of book potential.
Open Access Digital Collections
- Library of Congresssee "World's Transportation Commission," "United States Lend-Lease Program in eastern India" “League of Mations Malaria Investigation Committee,” and “Farm Security Administration / Office of War Information Black-and-White Negatives”
- Archives of Indian Laboursearch "Photographs"
- Indian Institute of Astrophysicsincludes a few images; mostly links to Wikipedia articles
- National Council of [Indian] Science Museums Digitized Collectionscontains about 1,000 images
- Tata Central Archives Photographic CollectionThe Tata Central Archives is the corporate business archives of the Tata group, founded by Jamshedji Nusserwanji Tata (3 March 1839 – 19 May 1904), an Indian businessman.
- University of Oxford History of Science Musuemthe History of Science Museum is home to an unrivalled collection of scientific inventions, devices, and instruments from different cultures, places, and times in human history.
- [Indian] National Council of Science Museums’ Virtual GalleryNational Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous society under the Ministry of Culture, Government of India was formed on April 4, 1978. Today, it administers 25 Science Centres/Museums/Planetariums spread all over India.
- Museums of India National Portal and Digital Repositorythe Victoria Memorial Hall collection is focused more on colonial interactions; not searchable, only scrollable
- [Indian] National Rail Museum's archival photosscans of black & white photographs from the archives of the National Railway Museum, New Delhi
- Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre gallerythe lead Centre of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) under the Department of Space (DOS), Government of India. The Centre is named in fond memory of Dr Vikram A Sarabhai, the great visionary and the father of Indian Space Programme.
- Digital South Asia Libraryprovides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
- Database of Scientific Illustrators 1450-1950Database of Scientific Illustrators 1450-1950 - includes illustrators of scientific publications of all genres (especially atlases, articles, textbooks) who were active between 1450 and 1950, thus excluding illuminators of medieval manuscripts as well as illustrators still active.
- Wellcome Trust collectionYou can find all our digital items in the catalogue. An option to limit your search to online material appears once you have entered a search term. You can also search for digital images in the ‘Images’ tab on the catalogue.
- [U.S.] National Library of Medicine Prints & Photographs CollectionThe prints and photographs collection contains nearly 70,000 images dating from the 15th to the 21st century. The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Most types of printmaking are represented: woodcuts, engravings, etchings, mezzotints, aquatints, and lithographs. Also included in the collection are illustrations from the historical book collection.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaDPLA amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations by making millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
- Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and EpidemicsContagion is a digital library collection that brings a unique set of resources from Harvard’s libraries to Internet users everywhere. These materials include digitized copies of books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts—a total of more than 500,000 pages.
- Core Historical Literature of AgricultureThe [Cornell University] Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is primarily a collection of landmark agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Teams of scholars selected the titles in this collection for their historical and scientific importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences.
- USDA National Agricultural LibraryThe National Agricultural Library holds more than 3.5 million items covering all aspects of agriculture and related sciences. Their digital collections feature full-text digital materials, primarily USDA research and agricultural history publications.
- Whipple Museum of the History of ScienceThe Whipple Museum's (Cambridge University) collection includes scientific instruments, apparatus, models, pictures, prints, photographs, books and other material related to the history of science. There are 13,000 digitized images in their collection.
WashU Libaries' Databases
- India, Raj and Empire
Sourced from the Manuscript Collections of the National Library of Scotland and documenting the history of South Asia from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.
- Empire Online
Over 70,000 images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library.
- Science Museum GroupThe history of science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine presented in nearly 50,000 images from the digital collection of the Science Museum Group, including the Science Museum in London, the National Railway Museum in York, the National Science and Media Museum in Bradford, the Science and Industry Museum in Manchester and Locomotion in Shildon.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Onlinesearch the subcollections: Science, Technology and Medicine, Parts I & II (1780 - 1925(
- JSTORYou can search within captions via an Advanced Search in JSTOR. Keep in mind, however, that most captions are for graphs and charts and not photos or drawings.
finding images within printed volumes
You can search for images in printed volumes by multiple means, but the most efficient would be to search by [topic or place keyword] AND "pictorial works." Below are some examples:
The Army in India 1850-1914: a photographic record by Call Number: DS442.5 A7 - Olin Library Level 3 StacksPublication Date: 1968
Through the Eye of Time: photographs of Arunachal Pradesh, 1859-2006 : tribal cultures in the eastern Himalayas by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004165229Publication Date: 2008-04-22This is the first visual history of Arunachal Pradesh, a state in northeast India bordering on Tibet/China, Burma and Bhutan. Based on archival and field research, it illustrates a century and a half of cultural change in this culturally diverse and little-known region of the Himalayas. More than 200 photographs, half archival and half contemporary, reveal that tribal cultures in this remote mountainous region have been continually reacting to external forces and initiating internal innovations. The Introduction places the archival photographs in their wider context, emphasising the complexity of the colonial encounter and uncovering personal stories behind many of the images. The sequence of photographs, juxtaposing the historical and the contemporary, shows us the uneven and sometimes confusing mixture of past and present that is emerging in Arunachal Pradesh.- Registāna kā loka vijñāna / [saṅkalpanā, samanvaya, dastāvejīkaraṇa evaṃ ālekha byCall Number: HV626.I5 .J46 2007 Olin Library Level 2 StacksPublication Date: 2007Indigenous methods of grassland conservation, biodiversity conservation and folk science used in countering the elements of drought in the desert region of Rajasthan.
Visualizing Indian Women, 1875-1947 by Call Number: HQ1743 .V57 2006 4o Olin Library Level B OVERSIZEISBN: 9780195677317Publication Date: 2006This rare collection of 300 archival photographs accompanied by explanatory captions depicts women s lives during the period 1875 1947. It also includes a comprehensive, well-researched, yet lucid introduction placing in context the photographs which have been gleaned from private collections of families and friends, as well as from archives sections of various institutions, originally presented in an exhibition held by the Centre for Women s Development Studies. Focusing on the photographs, the book is divided into five sections of images: Visualizing the Family showcases family photographs that show the changing role of women due to the emergence of the urban nuclear family The Learning Experience looks at pioneers in educational reform and the experiences of women in schools and colleges Worlds Beyond studies the beginnings of women s emancipation by recording upper caste women as pioneers in the creative arts, middle-class women travelling and experiencing life outside the home, and women as agricultural labourers and factory workers The Freedom Struggle documents the process of women's evolution as active political beings in a critical phase of the nation's history and Towards the Midnight Hour captures a sense of challenge and commitment by highlighting the emergence of women as professionals and their experiences through the Bengal famine, Quit India movement, Partition, and the Second World War. This professionally designed, well-produced volume provides a more holistic understanding of what is learnt through the written word, memory, and recall. This book will be of great interest to general readers, students and scholars of gender studies, history, sociology, culture and media studies photographers, photo-journalists, archivists, and art historians.
Civil and Corrupt Asia: image and text in the Itinerario and the Icones of Jan Huygen van Linschoten by Call Number: DS411.1 .B6613 2003 Olin Library Level 3 StacksISBN: 0226847004Publication Date: 2002-09-01Jan Huygen van Linschoten (1562-1611) was a Dutchman who, in 1596, penned the famous Itinerario, an account of his travel to the Indian Peninsula and its eastern surroundings that described the inhabitants of this vast region and quickly became a travel guide for everyone going there. Van Linschoten is held as a key eyewitness of the Portuguese-Asian empire at its height, and as one who worked to shift the center of European expansion from the Iberian peninsula and Italy to the Netherlands and England. In 1604 he published an abridged version, the Icones et Habitus Indorum, which contained 36 of the engravings from the Itinerario together with Latin captions. Divine and Spoiled Asia reproduces these engravings and their captions (in English), together with an extensive analysis of them by historian Ernst van den Boogaart. In addition to providing unparalleled insights into early modern European views of the East, the engravings also contain valuable depictions of the peoples, customs, and flora and fauna of late sixteenth-century India and neighboring countries.
Vision from the Inner Eye: the photographic art of A. L. Syed by Call Number: TR653 .S84 2001 Kranzberg Art&Arch Library General StacksISBN: 1890206288Publication Date: 2006-07-05Abid Milan Lal Mian Syed's exceptional technical skill and artistic eye, in a career spanning 70 years, produced hundreds of striking black-and-white images that are a treasure of India's photographic heritage. This title offers a tribute to the man and his work.
So Many Worlds: a photographic record of our time by Call Number: TR820 .S595 1996 4o Olin Library Level B OVERSIZEISBN: 0821223240Publication Date: 1996-11-01This publication accompanies the touring exhibition "The Patient Planet: A World History in 255 Photos: 1941-1995. Includes a chapter entitled "Go East: India"- The Art of healing and health care in India: Twelve miniaturesCall Number: xxWZ 290 A784a 1984 Becker Medical Library - Archives and Rare Books - Extra OversizePublication Date: 198412 color illustrations of Ayurvedic medicine from the 16th-19th centuries
From Kashmir to Kabul: the photographs of John Burke and William Baker, 1860-1900 by Call Number: DS352 .K45 2002 Kranzberg Art&Arch Library General StacksISBN: 3791327860Publication Date: 2002-10-01As recent events draw attention to the people and landscapes of Afghanistan and Pakistan, images of these wartorn countries are becoming increasingly familiar. The harsh beauty of the region has been luring photographers since the Victorian age, the most famous of whom were William Baker and John Burke. Their photographs of the Great Game ? a phrase coined by Rudyard Kipling for the power struggles of British and Russian imperialism ? were an inspiration to the writer, and remain some of the most poignant images of the British Empire.
Warrior race: A journey through the land of the Tribal Pathans by Call Number: 141-K-1 West Campus Library StoragePublication Date: 1993
Boetti by Afghan People: Peshawar, Pakistan, 1990: photographs by Call Number: TR658.5 .S84 2011 Kranzberg Art&Arch Library General StacksISBN: 9780970386090Publication Date: 2011Adding to the appreciation of Boetti's joyous work is this photo essay on the unseen story behind the making of his seminal arazzi (embroidered works). In 1990, Steinberger traveled to Peshawar, Pakistan, with Boetti's blessing, to document how the Afghan refugee women realized the embroideries which Boetti had outlined. This book documents his journey.
Afghanistan 1970-1975: images from an era of peace photographs by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780615240374Publication Date: 2008Collection of black and white photographs taken in Afghanistan during the period 1970-1975. Taken nearly forty-five years ago, this collection of more than 50 images shows the vibrancy and nuance of an ancient culture nearly lost to nearly 40 years of war and political turmoil. They portray the laughing children and the handsome faces of a rugged and courageous people living as they have for centuries. These images were taken prior to the Russian invasion and many years before civil war wracked the country, allowing the murderous rule of the Taliban and invasion of foreign fighters.- Afghanistan: The revolution continues byCall Number: DS371.2 A344 1984 Olin Library Level 3 StacksPublication Date: 1984Commemorative edition on the 20th anniversary of the formation of the People's Democratic Party of Afghanistan. Heavily illustrated.
- The Ganges Canal: illustrated by photographs byCall Number: eBookPublication Date: Roorkee, India: Thomason Civil Engineering College Press, 1867.
The Company Fortress: Military Engineering and the Dutch East India Company in South Asia, 1638-1795 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789400603806Publication Date: 2020The remains of Dutch East India Company forts are scattered throughout littoral Asia and Africa. But how important were the specific characteristics of European bastion-trace fortifications to Early-Modern European expansion? Was European fortification design as important for Early-Modern expansion as has been argued? This book takes on these questions by studying the system of fortifications built and maintained by the Dutch East India Company (VOC) in present-day India and Sri Lanka. It uncovers the stories of the forts and their designers, arguing that many of these engineers were in fact amateurs and their creations contained serious flaws. Subsequent engineers were hampered by their disagreement over fortification design: there proved not to be a single "European school" of fortification design. The study questions the importance of fortification design for European expansion, shows the relationship between siege and naval warfare, and highlights changing perceptions by the VOC of the capabilities of new polities in India in the late eighteenth century.
Textual Primary Sources
Primary Sources
- Medical History of British IndiaCollection of reports regarding disease and its prevention in 19th and 20th-century British India, including veterinary medicine and animal husbandry.
- South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary sources covering the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and South Asian languages, from and about South Asia.
Secondary Sources - Books and Academic Journals
- Historical Abstracts (1955-)
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Learn more about this database.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975-) (EBSCO)Indian Journal of History of Science and the History of Science in South Asia are included in this collection
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - )
References to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
A Modern Juggernauth
"It is very striking to see many of our Western inventions now in working order in India. The railway, the telegraph, and the steam-boat are all doing duty there; but there is something strange in their appearance amongst a primitive Asiatic people. When the India of this day is contrasted with what it was only a quarter of a century ago, it is as if a new generation of gods had come into the land. These great wonder-working powers of science and mechanism might, according to Hindoo ideas, be easily converted into deities. The idea of renewed avatars is a great principle of the Buddhist and Brahminical religions. The old gods have seen their day-they are used up, and must give place to another birth; and here is the new race of powers, beginning their rule, one may truly say, with an iron hand. Amongst these iron divinities which have so lately appeared is a very large one, lately to be seen at Bombay. It is furnished with heavy wheels, to crush whatever comes under it. This is its peculiar character in outward aspect, so that Juggernauth naturally comes to mind. The locomotive may be regarded as a new road roller incarnation of that deity; but in this new birth of the god the crushing power, instead of taking the lives of fanatics, is devoted to a useful purpose. The Chinese have a proverb that "The smoother of a road is a benefactor of men." That beneficent operation is the attribute of this new Juggernauth. When he was first set at work, in November, 1875, smoothing the way for the entrance of the Prince of Wales, a crowd of Brahmins, Mohammedans, Parsees, and all the wide variety of creeds to be found in Bombay, would look on at the huge monster with curious wonder. There is an expression about these natives, of something like astonishment and fear, which is very closely allied to superstition; and it would not be a very difficult matter to get them to do "poojah" to such an object as this steam roller. The old Juggernauth is not quite responsible for all the follies committed by his votaries, and it might be the same with this one. Only make the one false step and commence a foolish worship, and with such a susceptible race, so given to worship a visible object, the new Juggernauth might soon have to answer for wholesale self-immolation. The principle of "renewed incarnations" would again be vindicated. In our Artist's sketch of the scene at Bombay, one of the arches made for the Prince of Wales's visit is seen on the right hand." "A New Juggernauth." Illustrated London News, January 27, 1877, 85.
