Winner of the American Society of Journalists and Authors' 2016 Outstanding Book Award in the Self-Help category Praise for Author's Last Book: "Confessions of a Credit Junkie is presented in a conversational tone, without confusion, techno-speak complexity or excessive industry jargon. The book breaks through delusion and naiveté and can, given a chance, inspire even the most wide-eyed spender to avoid the pit of debt that snared Harzog and so very many others. --Creditcardinsider.com If you're in credit-card debt and you're tired of being told that all you need to do is give up your daily latte--and cut up all your credit cards--this is the book for you. Former credit junkie Beverly Harzog racked up thousands of dollars in credit-card debt during a decade of overspending. When she decided she wanted to break free from debt, she found that conventional advice about personal finance didn't work for her. So, Beverly created her own unique debt escape plan and succeeded in paying off more than $20,000 in credit card debt in two years. In The Debt Escape Plan, you'll find easy-to-follow advice, often laced with a touch of Southern humor, to help you conquer--and stay out of--credit-card debt. In this much-needed book, you'll learn: Why a one-size-fits-all approach to credit card debt doesn't work. How to use the Money Personality Quiz to customize your own debt escape plan. The nine biggest debt mistakes and how to overcome them. Seven secrets for giving your credit score a quick boost. how to overcome the hardships of medical bills. How to debt-proof your future so this never happens to you again!

The Financial Aid Handbook is the only book families need to find the right college at the right price. This completely revised, up-to-date edition builds on the success of the original - the definitive, one-stop guide to the college selection and payment process, covering everything from basic timelines and tuition costs to predicting your scholarship award from colleges and taking ownership of student debt after graduation. Updated to reflect the most recent changes in federal processes and timelines and including new chapters for undocumented and homeless students, this revised edition is a must-have for high school students and their parents. The Financial Aid Handbook features straightforward language, engaging explanations, and hundreds of tips to maximize your financial aid - the scholarship funds that come from colleges themselves. No other book on the market teaches students and parents how to find real, four-year scholarships - and how to land them. It includes: The nine biggest myths about paying for college. A step-by-step guide to completing the FAFSA and PROFILE. The ultimate guide to federal, state, and private student loans. How to predict scholarship dollars with the Merit Aid Profile. How to negotiate with the Financial Aid office.

This book explores the issue of consumer financial education, responding to increased interest in, and calls to improve peoples' financial literacy skills and abilities to understand and manage their money. New conceptual frameworks introduced in the book offer academic audiences an innovative way of thinking about the project on financial literacy education. Using the concepts of 'edu-regulation' and 'financial knowledge democratisation' to analyse the financial education project in the UK, the book exposes serious, and often ignored, limitations to using information and education as tools for consumer protection. It challenges the mainstream representation of financial literacy education as a viable solution to consumer financial exclusion and poverty. Instead, it argues that the project on financial literacy education fails to acknowledge important dependences between consumer financial behaviour and the socio-economic, political, and cultural context within which consumers live. Finally, it reveals how these international and national calls for ever greater financial education oversimplify and underestimate the complexity of consumer financial decision-making in our modern times.

A modern primer on consumer finance and personal money management intended for readers aged 15 to 30, this guide can also serve as a primary text for high school, college, or adult education courses on personal finance. * Provides an understanding of the structure and institutions constituting the U.S. economic system * Shares knowledge about consumer finance and financial planning to enable young people to make better choices in their lives * Shows how to save and invest prudently and use debt wisely and effectively * Prepares millennials for the financial impact of life events so they will be empowered to take control of their financial futures * Includes a series of tips that summarize the important lessons from the book

An indispensable guide for any recent graduate that provides simple, easy-to-follow rules for making smart personal finance choices during the first decade of one's career. * Demonstrates how simple choices, especially in the years after college, can guarantee (barring misfortunes such as catastrophic illness or drug addiction) a lifelong, healthy relationship with money * Illustrates how to apply the attitudes inherent in modesty, skepticism, and optimism to all financial decision-making, both upon graduating and in the future * Includes a math refresher for understanding the basic principles of interest rates, credit card debt, investment, and retirement savings * Demystifies without boring, simplifies without condescending to, and above all highlights the relevance and practical applications of financial planning during one's first ten years out of school

The world today comes with a list of challenges. Figuring out how to get your feet planted and get your finances on track should be easier, but we're not always prepared with the best information despite the best education. Enter The Millennial Money Fix, a candid guide to understand how to handle your money with the obstacles of today. This book will get you through each step including: Identifying honest and realistic goals. Selecting and paying for a college or graduate program. Mastering cash flow to jumpstart your life. Navigating the job landscape to do what you love. Planning for marriage, babies, and all that gushy stuff. Redefining retirement as your ability to do what you want.

Create a solid pathway for financial success Millennials often confront greater difficulties'including economic uncertainty and student debt'than those who came before them. This new financial responsibility can be intimidating, and many people are unsure where to begin. Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies will help Millennials to be confident about managing their finances and get on a clear path toward financial security. Inside, trusted financial advisor Eric Tyson shows students and recent grads how to make smart financial decisions in order to pay off student loans, avoid any additional debt, and create a solid plan to ensure their financial success. From avoiding common money mistakes to making informed investment choices, Personal Finance in Your 20s & 30s For Dummies covers it all! Build a foundation through smart spending and saving Rent, buy, or sell a house File taxes the right way Protect your finances and identity in the digital world Get ready to forge your own path to financial security!