Quick Search searches across our catalog and an enormous index for books, articles, films, and more. After searching by keyword, you can filter by time period, source, language, and more. For articles, you can use limit your search to "Articles" under "Resource Type" using the filters on the left-hand side of the page. This is a great place to start looking for scholarly literature before turning to more subject-specific databases.
Full-text of over 250,000 poems, and 450,000 poem citations. Search by words in poems, subject, and author and gender, schools and movements, language, forms, nationality, era, and cultural identity. Also included are audio recordings of some poems, and a history and criticism section with the full-text of award-winning books on poetry.
Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and the social sciences. Updated daily.
Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Comprised of 10 individual Thomson Gale series that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Coverage, 1983-present. Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur or International Bibliography of Periodical Literature. An interdisciplinary index of periodical literature for the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.
Bibliographical information on books translated and published since 1979 in about one hundred UNESCO member states, It has otals more than 2 million entries in all areas: literature, natural and exact sciences, social and human sciences, history, art, etc. Cverage does include references for some titles published before 1979; for comprehensive listings, 1932-1979, consult the print issues in the Washington University Catalog.
From the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Learn more about this database.
These tools can help you find full text of an article when you have a citation (Citation Linker) or when you see references to articles or paywalled articles online (Libkey Nomad). They will save you a lot of time!
A comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
Journals, books, images and primary sources.
ABSEEES provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union in anthropology, culture and the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada from 1939-present.
Thousands of journals and other publications covering most subjects.
