Library Databases - Broad Based - Industry and Market Research - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Library Databases - Broad Based

Current Olin students, faculty and staff have access to restricted library internet resources. View Remote Access for more information

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
A database of over 60 million businesses and more than 302 million consumers. Business listings include such data as company names, phone numbers, complete addresses, key executive names, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, contact details, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores. Residential information is compiled from more than 5,200 White Page telephone directories and census data.

Access: Danforth Campus
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information System) (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
Country and company information on Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. Includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; reports on financial markets, companies, and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news.

Access: Business School
First Research (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
First Research creates industry reports for people who need to quickly learn about a target industry. Its Industry Profiles cover more than 300 business sectors and highlight industry trends and business issues.

Note: Limited to Business School students/faculty/staff on proxy. Available to all students on-site at Kopolow.

Access: Business School only
FitchConnect
FitchConnect is an innovative, robust and comprehensive credit analytics and macro intelligence platform designed to service the individual data consumption models of credit risk, debt market and strategic research professionals. It provides users with credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service. Click Additional Info below for login instructions.
Login Instructions: If prompted, confirm your Washington University email address. This will take you to the WashU WUSTL Key Login page. Enter your WUSTL key username and password and click "Login." If you are off campus, you may need to use the 2FA Duo authentication. After WUSTL key authentication you will be directed to the FitchConnect BMI homepage.
Frost and Sullivan (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
Frost and Sullivan provides in-depth research coverage of these industries: Aerospace and Defense; Automotive and Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics and Security; Energy and Power Supplies; Environment and Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation and Process Control; Information and Communication Technologies; Measurement and Instrumentation. NOTE: Limited to Business School students/faculty/staff on proxy. Available to all students on-site at Kopolow Business Library.
GlobalData Explorer
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing actionable intelligence spanning 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers you broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies and driving innovation.

Access: Danforth Campus
IBISWorld (includes Benchmarking Pro Suite)
Covers over 700 United States industries. A variety of reports including the new "Global" Industry Reports, Industry Report, U.S. Industry Risk Rating Reports, Industry Profiles, and Economic & Demographic Profiles.

Access: Danforth Campus
Mintel Reports
Market research reports, including primary data and secondary source information, for a number of industries. Once connected, scroll down and click 'I agree' to enter the site. Free individual registration is required.

Access: Danforth Campus

Mintel in the real world
Video to walk through on how to apply Mintel Reports to branding/advertising projects according to Mintel’s experience working with marketing agencies, it includes:

Nikkei Asia
Nikkei Asia was created to change the way the Asia region is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs. It delivers unique and exclusive coverage of Asia region economic, political, business and technology news in English as well as provides data on financial markets and top companies in Asia.

Access: Danforth Campus
S&P Capital IQ (Access restricted to Kopolow Business Library & Business School)
An intuitive and comprehensive resource for those interested in financial analysis of publicly traded firms. International in scope. Fixed income, industry coverage, news, peer analysis, earnings forecasts, people and private company information is also available. This resource is widely used in the business community.
To request an account or if you have questions, contact Madjid Zeggane zeggane@wustl.edu: 314-935-6963. Please provide your status (e.g. 2nd year BSBA, MBA class of 2025, faculty, etc). You must be a currently enrolled Business School student or a Business School faculty/staff member at the university to maintain your Cap IQ account.

Access: Business school only
Value Line
Provides on-line access to Value Line’s leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

Access: Business School only