DatabasesFind Book Reviews
E-BooksThesesBooks by WU faculty in Comp Lit
CompLit AssociationsScholarly WebsitesWU Comp Lit Program
GUIDES FROM PAST SEMESTERSGER 528/CL 5690: Europe: Questions of Identity and Unity (Lützeler; Spring 2013)
Online JournalsPrint JournalsTable of Contents for Journals
BibliographiesEncyclopedias & HandbooksGeneral Books on CompLitLanguage Dictionaries
Zotero GuideMendeley GuideHow to Choose: Zotero, Mendeley, or EndNote
This is the "Home" page of the "Comparative Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Washington University Libraries
Ask Us

email  chat  phone  text

Research Guide to support Comparative Literature at Washington University.
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/complit Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News for Comparative Literature

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Recommend a Book, DVD, Journal, etc. for purchase

We're eager to hear what you need! Please email Brian with any of your recommendations or fill out the appropriate form: books, DVDs ; journals.

 

 

SELECTED NEW RESOURCES -- BOOKS, DVDs, GUIDES, DATABASES

Medieval Travel Writing Collection of digital  manuscripts from the 13th to 16th centuries covering travel in fact and fantasy during the Middle Ages to the "Holy Land," China, and India. From major European research libraries, the manuscripts are in English, Latin, French, German, Dutch, and Spanish.  More info.

Literary Manuscripts (Berg Collection) - Victorian manuscript collection including the Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Charles Dickens, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, and others. More info.

Victorian Popular Culture - Primary source materials covering entertainment in the UK and US in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes books, posters, periodicals, handbills, sheet music, video, and more. More info.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 - Images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia. Includes such topics as the Arts, Lifestyles, Celebrities, Youth Culture, Student Protests, Civil Rights, Women’s Liberation, and more. More info.

Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Peridicals, 1685-1835 - Items from Hope Collection (Bodleian Library) and other rare collections. More info.

Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape - Includes William Wordsworth's mansuscripts, notebooks, and correspondence with other key figures of Romantic Era. More info.

Early European Books provides facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources from Early Modern Europe, roughly 1450-1700. In multiple languages and covering multiple subjects and disciplines. More info

Nineteenth Century Collections Online, a database of  primary source collections of the long nineteenth century including a variety of formats. Of particular note is the archive European Literature 1790-1840 : the Corvey Collection which has more than 9,500 English, French and German titles.  More info

For complete lists of new books, and e-resources:

Click on links for call numbers and availability.

    Cover Art
    After Translation - Ignacio Infante
    Call Number: PN1059.T7 I54 2013
    ISBN: 9780823251780
    Publication Date: 2013

    Cover Art
    Against World Literature - Emily Apter
    Call Number: PN241 .A69 2013
    ISBN: 9781844679713
    Publication Date: 2013-06-04


    Cover Art
    How to Read Literature - Terry Eagleton
    Call Number: PN49 .E25 2013
    ISBN: 9780300190960
    Publication Date: 2013


    Cover Art
    World Literature - Theo D'Haen (Editor); Cesar Dominguez (Editor); Mads Rosendahl Thomsen (Editor)
    Call Number: PN441 .W67 2012
    ISBN: 9780415602983
    Publication Date: 2012-07-10

     

    Welcome to the Research Guide for Comparative Literature

    The primary purpose of this research guide is to assist students and faculty in Washington University's Committee on Comparative Literature in conducting research; and using the Libraries' resources and services. Given the cross-national and interdisciplinary aspects of CompLit, you may also want to visit the other Subject Research Guides. In particular:

    I hope you find this guide easy to use. Please email Brian Vetruba if you have any questions about this guide or anything related to the Libraries' services or resources

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Brian Vetruba
    Chat requires JavaScript.
    Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    Olin Library, Level 1; Rm. 124
    314.935.4824
    email: bvetruba@wustl.edu

    Office hrs. for Spring 2014--Wednesdays, 11am-12pm in Ridgley 319 (German Dept. lounge) and by appt.
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip