DatabasesFind Book ReviewsFind Current & Historical NewsTable of Contents for Journals 
BooksFilms
German Film LinksGermanic Studies Links/ListservsLinks to full text German literature collectionsWU Germanic Dept. calendar WU Germanic Lang & Lit Dept. 
Library News for Comparative LiteratureLibrary News for German Studies
Comparative Literature For New Grad Students GER 340: German Literature and the Modern Era (Fall 2009) GER 408 German as a Lang. of Business (Fall 2009) GER 4102 Buddenbrooks (Fall 2009) GER 450 Methodology & Bibliography (Fall 2009) GER 528 German Jewish Literature (Fall 2009) GER 529 Split Screens (Fall 2009) GER314A/HUM313A Legend of King Arthur (Fall 2009) GUIDES FOR PAST COURSESLearning German Learning Swedish Medieval & Early Modern Studies Second Language Acquisition Translation Studies 
Digitized Periodicals CollectionsOnline JournalsPrint JournalsTable of Contents for Journals
BibliographiesBiographical ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopedias & Handbooks
Importing from BDSL to RefWorksRefworks Guide RefWorks LOGIN 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Germanic Studies  Tags: germanic_studies germanic german_studies literature culture deutsch deutsche_literatur  

Research Guide to support Germanic Studies at Washington University
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/germanic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias & Handbooks             Print Page
  
 

Oxford Reference Online & Oxford Companinon to German Lit

Look up any literary work or author and get reference articles!

Oxford Reference Online

Browse and Search in Oxford Companion to German Literature.

Online Encyclopedias & Handbooks

  • AEIOU  
      
    The Annotierbare Elektronische Interaktive Österreichische Universal-Information System. Provides culturally relevant information about Austria, including Austrian literary figures.
  • Britannica Online  
      
  • Brockhaus Konversationslexikon - 14. Auflage (1894-1896)  
      
    16 vols. Late 19th-century edition.
  • Country Profile: Germany  
      
    Part of the Library of Congress Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program.
  • The Literary Encyclopedia  
      
    Scholarly-owned reference encyclopedia which provides 4700 profiles of authors, works and topics (literary, philosophical, historical).
  • Merck's Warenlexikon - 3. Auflage (1884)  
      
    19th-century encyclopedia for trade, industry, and commerce. Entries for: chemicals, dyes, pharmaceuticals, native and colonial goods and materials, minerals, and industrial products.
  • Meyers Konversationslexikon - 4. Auflage (1885-1892)  
      
    19 vols. Major competitor to the Brockhaus encyclopedia until their merger in 1986.
  • Oxford Companion to German Literature  
      
    Covers authors and their major works as well as historical, intellectual and cultural periods of German-speaking countries from 8th century to mid-1990s.
  • Pop Culture Germany!  
      
    Chapters: attitudes towards nation and past, idiosyncrasies, organizational structures, social aspects, leisure, print media, other media, performing arts, visual arts & architecture, production & consumption.
  • Tatsachen über Deutschland  
      
    Comprehensive site produced by the German government. Includes .pdf version for download.
  • Zedlers Grosses Universal-Lexikon  
      
    Das von Johann Heinrich Zedler verlegte Universal-Lexicon ist mit Abstand das umfangreichste enzyklopädische Werk, das im Europa des 18. Jahrhunderts hervorgebracht wurde. In den 64 Bänden und 4 Supplementbänden des Lexikons befinden sich auf ca. 63.000 zweispaltigen Folioseiten rund 284.000 Artikel und 276.000 Verweisungen.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBrian Vetruba


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)

Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email

Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait