Research Guides: A Guide to Germanic Studies Resources: Bibliographies

How do I find bibliographies?

The online bibliographies and bibliographical databases below are great sources of relevant citations.
Print bibliographies for specific authors can be found by searching author's name in the "SUBJECT" field and then "bibliography" as a keyword. For example, Mann, Thomas, 1875-1955 -- Bibliography.).
For print bibliographies for certain literary periods or topic, search Quick Search or the Classic Catalog with "bibliography" as a keyword.

Online Bibliographies & Indexes

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) (1985 - )
Bibliography on German language and literature. Browse by author or literary period available under Inhalt tab. Requires use of umlauts and other diacritics.
Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur ( KLG) Online
Bio-bibliographical database of contemporary (post-1945) German-speaking authors.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Journals on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Verfasser Datenbank (Database of Authors)
Over 20,000 articles on literary authors in the German-speaking world from the Middle Ages to the present, drawn from the standard reference works Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480–1520, Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520–1620 and the Killy-Literaturlexikon.

Bibliographie zur deutschsprachigen Schweizerliteratur : BSL.
Vol. 23-26 (1998-2001) available online."Artikel von und über deutschsprachige Schweizer SchriftstellerInnen und die Deutsch-Schweizer Literaturszene."
Germanistik
Online coverage, 2007-. Quarterly bibliography published Tübingen : Niemeyer. Covers Germanic languages and literatures.
Inhaltsanalytische Bibliographien deutscher Kulturzeitschriften des 19. Jahrhunderts (IBDK)
Detailed index of 19th cent. German cultural/literary journals. Click on WORK OVERVIEW to access volumes. WU Libs have access to Bd. 1, 3, 4, 6-9 which index Die Gartenlaube, Blätter für literarische Unterhaltung, Deutsche Roman-Zeitung, Westermanns Monatshefte, and others. More info
Lexikon deutscher Frauen der Feder : eine Zusammenstellung der seit dem Jahre 1840 erschienenen Werke weiblicher Autoren, nebst Biographieen der lebenden und einem Verzeichnis der Pseudonyme (1898 ed.)
Bio-bibliography of German-speaking women authors. Available via HathiTrust
Goedekes Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung aus den Quellen (1884-1998)
Bibliography of German literature from Middle Ages through 1830. Includes commentary on periods. Compiled by Karl Goedeke. Available via HathiTrust.
VD16 (Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachbereich erschienenen Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts )
National bibliography of German imprints in the 16th century, is a site hosted by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek. For some items, links to digitized copies are included.
VD17 (Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts
National bibliography for 1601 to 1700 of all German-language imprints and publications in other languages published in German-speaking countries. For some items, links to digitized copies are included.
VD18 (Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 18. Jahrhunderts)
National bibliography for 1701 to 1800 of all German-language imprints and publications in other languages published in German-speaking countries. Includes access to all digital copies of most items in bibliography
Weimarer Goethe-Bibliographie online
International bibliography to Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's life, work and effect. Full coverage for 1991 to present; coverage from 1950-1990 in process of being added

Annotated Guide to Indexes for German Periodicals

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals: Language Specific-German

Print Bibliographies

Germanistik. Tübingen : M. Niemeyer, 1960-
Available online and in print
more...less...
Published quarterly. Bibliography of Germanic literatures and languages.
Bibliographies of German lit. (general) in Olin
Bibliographies of German lit (20th cent.) in Olin
Bibliographies of German lit (19th cent.) in Olin
Bibliographies of German lit (18th cent.) in Olin
Bibliographies of German lit. (Early Modern) in Olin
Bibliographies of German Lit (Middle High German) in Olin
Bio-bibliographies of German Literature/German Authors
Has biographical information and bibliographical citations.
Bio-bibliographies of German-speaking Women Authors

Kürschners deutscher Literatur-Kalender
Call Number: Z2230 K92
ISBN: 9783110769722
Publication Date: 1937-
A reference work that lists not only currently around 12,000 bio-bibliographic articles and addresses of writers of German literature, but also translators, publishers, agencies, radio stations, writers‘ associations' academies, literary magazines and feuilletons as well as literary prizes and awards in the German-speaking countries. Currently it is published every other year in two volumes by the publisher Walter de Gruyter. The reference work is named after the specialist in German studies Joseph Kürschner.