Quick Search searches across our catalog and an enormous index for books, articles, films, and more. After searching by keyword, you can filter by time period, source, language, and more. For articles, you can use limit your search to "Articles" under "Resource Type" using the filters on the left-hand side of the page. This is a great place to start looking for scholarly literature before turning to more subject-specific databases.
Subject-Specific Databases for Germanic Studies
Click on the 
button to check whether full text is available online or in print as well as to make requests via ILL.
- Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) (1985 - )The major bibliography for German language and literature. Commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch. Requires use of umlauts and other diacritics. Coverage 1985 to the present.
- Germanistik Online DatenbankDatabase for all issues of the bibliography Germanistik which includes citations for German philology, literature, and language. Also covers other Germanic languages and literatures, film, comparative literature, and literary theory. Coverage 1960 to the present.
- Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography with Full Text
From the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource combines an extensive collection of full-text journals with the definitive index for the study and teaching of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- ProQuest One Literature
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. Learn more about this database.
Other Relevant Databases
- JSTOR
Journals, books, images and primary sources.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973 - )
Database contains international publications in linguistics and related disciplines in language sciences.
- IBZ Online (1983- )Coverage, 1983-present. Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur or International Bibliography of Periodical Literature. An interdisciplinary index of periodical literature for the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.
- Project MUSE Premium Collection
A comprehensive collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.
Tools for finding full text of academic articles
These tools can help you find full text of an article when you have a citation (Citation Linker) or when you see references to articles or paywalled articles online (Libkey Nomad). They will save you a lot of time!
- Citation LinkerWhen you have a citation (or a partial citation) to a journal article, try this tool. If the Libraries subscribe to the full text of that article online, you'll be linked to it. If we don't, you'll be given directions for acquiring it through Interlibrary Loan.
- LibKey NomadLibKey Nomad automatically provides instant links to full text content for articles (and book reviews!) that your library subscribes too - or open access alternatives - as you do research on the web and come across literature. In each case, Nomad works with your subscribing library to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. Special enhancement is also performed in-line on sites like PubMed and Wikipedia (as seen below).
After installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your subscribing institution. After that, it simply automatically scans for scholarly content wherever you may roam. - ILLIAD (Interlibrary Loan)Use ILLIAD to request physical books from other libraries that you can't find in MOBIUS, or electronic scans of articles and book chapters that you can't access in our databases.