A Guide to Germanic Studies Resources

An important biographical resource, the online version includes all articles published to date, along with access to the predecessors of the AKL, Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis Zur Gegenwart (Thieme-Becker) and for the 20th century, Vollmer. Also includes the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index (A-Z), and the Kunstlerlexikon der Antike.

A conglomerate of biography databases, offering images and some full text sources.

More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Learn more about this database.

Online edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, covering all subjects.

A bio-bibliographical database of contemporary (post-1945) German-speaking authors. Part of Nachschlage.NET.

Over 5100 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics, written by over 2000 specialists from universities around the world. Also lists over 22,000 works by date, country and genre. Covers canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian, and is extending its coverage of Italian, Spanish, Latin and Greek. Data can be arrayed by date, country and genre.

Over 20,000 articles on literary authors in the German-speaking world from the Middle Ages to the present, drawn from the standard reference works Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480–1520, Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520–1620 and the Killy-Literaturlexikon.

Provides short biographical information on 5.49 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Note that the Washington University Libraries subscribe only to the index, not to the full-text articles.