Subject Librarian
John M. Olin Library | MSC 1061-141-B | 1 Brookings Drive | St. Louis, Missouri 63130
Email: wschlect@wustl.edu
German Literature Ebook Databases
- Bertolt Brechts Werke This link opens in a new window
Contains German-language editions of Bertolt Brecht's complete works.
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker This link opens in a new windowWorks with scholarly commentary of more than thirty authors from the Middle Ages through early 20th century. It includes prose, poetry, drama, diaries, letters, political speeches, historical documents, and writings on art and philosophy. Learn more about this database
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (1543-1945) This link opens in a new window
Drawn from the collection of Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen. Contains books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. Includes over 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand in 15 languages. Learn more about this database
- Goethes Werke im WWW This link opens in a new window
Contains Goethe's works from the Weimar edition (Sophie edition), which were originally published from 1887-1919 by Hermann Boehlau (and successors) under the patronage of the Grand Duchess Sophie of Saxonia. Supplemented by letters and other material discovered after the Weimar edition.
- Kafkas Werke im WWW This link opens in a new window
The critical edition of Kafka's complete works, Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher, of which the first volume was published in 1982.
- Luthers Werke This link opens in a new window
The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke is regarded as a monumental work in the field of theology and the German language. It was first published in 1883 and includes 127 volumes, now available in electronic format.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Includes 9,500 English, French and German literature titles of the Romantic era.
- Schillers Werke This link opens in a new window
Schillers Werke comprises the complete works of Friedrich von Schiller, including his poetry and plays, the translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters to and from Schiller and the Conversations. Learn more about this database
- Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universalbibliothek This link opens in a new window
Covers almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century. Covers all volumes of German poetry published within Reclams Universalbibliothek since 1945. Learn more about this database
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a digital library of books and journals with over 3 million volumes viewable and downloadable.
Other German Literature Ebook Collections
- Die deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek (Proquest)
This link opens in a new window
- Digi20Collection of 4100+ German language scholarly titles. Titles are still in copyright and from leading academic publishers: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, Wilhelm Fink, Ferdinand Schöningh as well as Otto Sagner. Subjects include most humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- eBooks available from the Center for Research LibrariesEbooks available through our membership in the Center for Research Libraries
- EuropeanaA single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
- Fanny Lewald NovelsDigitization of 10 of Lewald's novels. Digitized by WU Digital Library Services.
- German folklore and popular culture : Das Kloster / ScheibleDas Kloster is a collection of magical and occult texts, chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance compiled by Stuttgart antiquarian Johann Scheible, between 1845 and 1849. In addition to the Das Kloster volumes, this collection provides additional volumes of unique perspectives on Central European culture and tradition. Included are texts essential for the study of German folk traditions, the Reformation, wit and humor, and 19th-century literature.
- Goethe-Institut OnleiheThis free service allows you to borrow german-language digital media, such as ebooks, audio and video files, and electronic newspapers and magazines, for a predetermined period of time, by downloading them from the Goethe-Institut's eLibrary.
- Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum Digitale Bibliothek (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek)Includes full text mongraphs, journals, newspapers, maps, manuscripts, and more.
- Olms Online Reprints400 volumes of German literature/literary studies, philosophy, and other subjects in the Humanities are available online.
- Projekt Gutenberg-DEFull text of poetry, fairy tales, fables, sagas, novels, short stories, novellas as well as biographical information on authors.
- Sophie: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking WomenA digital library of fiction, drama, music and articles written by German-speaking women between 1740 and 1923. Also includes the journal: Sophie Journal.
- ZenoLarge collection of full text of literary authors
Digital Manuscript and German Lit Collections
- Gutenberg Bible DigitalFull text of the Göttingen Gutenberg Bible and related historical materials.
- Jiddische DruckeA digital collection of Yiddish works from the mid-16th to the beginning of the 20th century owned by the Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main.
- Kinderbuchsammlung at the UB BraunschweigA digital collection of over 500 historical children's books, mostly in German, dating from the 19th century onwards.
- Manuscripta Mediaevalia75.000 medieval manuscripts, available online: Manuscripta mediaevalia is a joint venture of the State Library Berlin (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin / Preußischer Kulturbesitz), the State Library Munich (Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München) and the German Documentation Centre for the History of Arts (Deutsches Dokumentationszentrum für Kunstgeschichte - Bildarchiv Foto Marburg).
- MATEO: Mannheimer Texte OnlineResearch and Early Modern primary sources held at the Universität Mannheim, including Early Modern books and manuscripts as well as Latin poetry of Early Modern German writers.
- Medieval Manuscripts (Uni Heidelberg)Several Late Medieval illuminated manuscripts at the Universitüt Heidelberg.
- Wolfenbütteler Digitale Bibliothek (WDB)Portal to all digital collections from the Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel. Includes manuscripts, digital exhibits, and other rare materials.