DatabasesFind Book ReviewsFind Current & Historical NewsTable of Contents for Journals 
BooksFilms
German Film LinksGermanic Studies Links/ListservsLinks to full text German literature collectionsWU Germanic Dept. calendar WU Germanic Lang & Lit Dept. 
Library News for Comparative LiteratureLibrary News for German Studies
Comparative Literature For New Grad Students GER 340: German Literature and the Modern Era (Fall 2009) GER 408 German as a Lang. of Business (Fall 2009) GER 4102 Buddenbrooks (Fall 2009) GER 450 Methodology & Bibliography (Fall 2009) GER 528 German Jewish Literature (Fall 2009) GER 529 Split Screens (Fall 2009) GER314A/HUM313A Legend of King Arthur (Fall 2009) GUIDES FOR PAST COURSESLearning German Learning Swedish Medieval & Early Modern Studies Second Language Acquisition Translation Studies 
Digitized Periodicals CollectionsOnline JournalsPrint JournalsTable of Contents for Journals
BibliographiesBiographical ReferenceDictionariesEncyclopedias & Handbooks
Importing from BDSL to RefWorksRefworks Guide RefWorks LOGIN 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Washington University Libraries Save Time! Ask Us

Admin Sign In 

Germanic Studies  Tags: germanic_studies germanic german_studies literature culture deutsch deutsche_literatur  

Research Guide to support Germanic Studies at Washington University
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wustl.edu/germanic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  

Quick Links

 

Find It! Germanic Studies

Click on GO to initiate search on Find it! MultiSearch screen.

 

Off Campus Access

For assistance in accessing library databases and electronic journals while off-campus, see this page for help.

 

Main Databases

Other Databases

  • Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics  
      
    The Literature and Classics series offers 'over 1,500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres.
  • Columbia Granger's World of Poetry Database  
      
    250,000 full text poems as well as 450,000 poem citations. And this number continues to grow. Besides English, includes poems in 14 other languages including German and Yiddish
  • Dissertations & Theses (Proquest)  
      
    Complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations and theses. Viewable 24-page previews of many disserations and theses. To request a thesis, logon on to ILLiad and fill out thesis request form.
  • Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker  
      
    Full-text works with scholarly commentary of more than thirty authors from the Middle Ages through early 20th century. It includes prose, poetry, drama, diaries, letters, political speeches, historical documents, and writings on art and philosophy.
  • IBR Online  
      
    Coverage, 1985-present. Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen or International Bibliography of Book Reviews, contains over 990,000 entries.
  • IBZ Online  
      
    Coverage, 1983-present. Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur or International Bibliography of Periodical Literature. An interdisciplinary index of periodical literature for the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Contains the back runs of about 500 journals, excluding the most recent issues (3-5 years).
  • KLG-Online  
      
    Online version of the Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur. A bio-bibliographical database of contemporary (post-1945) German-speaking authors. Go to: http://library.wustl.edu/downloads/accessinfo.html for login/passwords.
  • LexisNexis  
      
    Full-text news, business, and legal and information. In the News tab, under Select Sources, select "Deutsche Presse" to limit to German-language news sources. Only searching--no browsing of periodicals.
  • Press Display  
    Recent and current issues of 1000 newspapers from 82 countries in 39 languages. There are 48 newspapers in German and 7 in Swedish. 3 concurrent users; please sign out when finished.
  • Project MUSE  
      
    Access to over 300 journals in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.
  • Testaments to the Holocaust  
      
    From the resources of the Wiener Library in London. Fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photos and propaganda materials. Interface in German or English. Can email or print texts.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageBrian Vetruba


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
314.935.4824 (voice); 314.935.9890 (fax)

Office hrs. for Fall 2009: Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30pm, Thursdays 11:30am-12:30pm in Ridgley 426; and by appt.
Send Email

Subjects:
Germanic Studies, Comparative Literature, European Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait