Research Guides: A Guide to Philosophy Resources: Reference

Selected General Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Browse the library catalog for philosophy encyclopedias.
Browse the library catalog for dictionaries of philosophy

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy / Edited by Robert Audi
2nd Edition. (Cambridge University Press, 1999) Olin Ref B41 C35
Encyclopedia of Philosophy / Donald M. Borchert, editor
2nd edition. (Thomson Gale, 2006). 10 Vols. Olin Ref B51 E53
Dictionary of the History of Ideas/ Philip P. Wiener, editor
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy / Edward Craig, ed.
(Routledge, 1998) 10 vols Olin Ref B51 R68
Historisches Wörterbuch der Philosophie.
Joachim Ritter, et al. editors. (Darmstadt: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 1971–2007) 13 vols. Olin Stacks B43 R48

SEP

What's new in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy:

Online Reference Sources

Use these sources for background information on and overviews of particular topics, brief introductions to the thought of a particular philosopher or school, and elucidation of philosophical terminology.

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy
more...less...
Online version of the all the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy (and more) from Abelard to Wittgenstein.
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Robert Audi, Ed. 2nd ed. Cambridge, 1999. Print Olin Reference B41 .C35 1999
Oxford Companion to Philosophy
edited by Ted Honderich. (2nd edition, 2005) Print version: Olin Stacks B51 .O94 2005
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
edited by Simon Blackburn (2nd edition, 2005) excellent brief philosophical dictionary of thinkers and terms. Print version Olin Ref. B41 .B53 2005
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (REP) Online
Edward Craig, General Editor.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An extensive, scholarly encyclopedia covering all areas of philosophy and regularly updated.
Dictionary of the History of Ideas
ed. Philip P. Wiener (New York: Scribner's, 1975); Print version Olin Stacks CB5 .D52
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Michael Kelly, editor (Oxford, 1998). Print Version Olin Reference, Art Reference BH56 .E53 1998
Philosophy of Science an Encyclopedia
Sahotra Sarkar, Jessica Pfeifer, editors
Routledge, 2006. via Ebrary