Jessica Pfeifer & Sahotra Sarkar, eds. The Philosophy of Science: An encyclopedia (New York: Routledge, 2006) - The first in-depth reference in the field that combines scientific knowledge with philosophical inquiry, this eBook brings together an international team of leading scholars to provide over 130 entries on the essential concepts in the philosophy of science. The essays represent the most up-to-date philosophical thinking on timeless scientific topics such as: determinism, explanation, laws of nature, perception, individuality, time, and economics as well as timely topics like adaptation, conservation biology, quantum logic, consciousness, evolutionary psychology, and game theory.
Wilbur Applebaum, ed. Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Copernicus to Newton (New York; London: Garland Pub., 2000)
J. David Archibald. Charles Darwin: A resource guide to his life and works (Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2019) - an important new compendium presenting a detailed chronology of all aspects Darwin's life. The extensive encyclopedia section includes many hundreds of entries of various kinds related to Darwin – people, places, institutions, concepts, and his publications. The bibliography provides a comprehensive listing of the vast majority of Darwin's works published during and after his lifetime. It also provides a more selective list of publications concerning his life and work.Includes a nearly year by year chronology detailing Charles Darwin's life, family, and work.The A to Z section includes many entries on concepts and people important in Charles Darwin's life and his work, emphasizing during his lifetime but extending somewhat backwards and forwards from there. The bibliography includes all of Charles Darwin's articles and books published in his lifetime in English and other languages, as well as a selective list of works about him and his work.The index thoroughly cross-references the chronological and encyclopedic entries.
Michael Ruse., ed. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought (Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2013) - a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy.
Oxford Bibliographies: Philosophy - written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in this database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. This online reference tool combines features of a high-level encyclopedia and of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.
International Aristotle Bibliography a comprehensive research tool and gives access to over 100 years of books, articles, book reviews and dissertations on the philosopher Aristotle.
"Bibliography" is a LoC subheading. So, if you know your subject heading, you can find bibliographies related to it.
Book Review Index - a comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. They monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
PhilSci Archive - an openly accessible repository specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science out of the Center for Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburgh. Works posted here can be linked to from across the web and freely viewed without the need for a user account. PhilSci-Archive invites submissions in all areas of philosophy of science, including general philosophy of science, philosophy of particular sciences (physics, biology, chemistry, psychology, etc.), feminist philosophy of science, socially relevant philosophy of science, history and philosophy of science and history of the philosophy of science.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975-) describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. As an EBSCO product, it is interoperable with the 50 other EBSCO databases WUSTL Libraries has access to.
The full text content of philosophy of science journals is not stored in a single repository. There are scores of journals dedicated to the philosophy of science, but they are scattered among many repositories (JSTOR, Academic Search Complete, as well as publisher's repositories like Cambridge, SAGE, etc.). For example, International Studies in the Philosophy of Science is in ASC, Studies in History and Philosophy of Science is in Science Direct Journals, And the British Journal for the Philosophy of Science is in three different repositories depending on which volume you need. Your Philosophy subject librarian recommends PhilPapers to search for citations and Primo or Google Scholar to find the full text.
Multidisciplinary Academic Journal databases
Google Scholar vs. Primo
JSTOR vs. Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete (1975-present) covers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
JSTOR database and full texts of journal articles.
Google Scholar - the most complete index of academic journal articles
Primo - the single search bar for *almost* everything WUSTL can access
Project MUSE Premium a collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.