PNP 495 - Undergraduate Seminar: Mental Health & Mental Illness: Philosophical Questions - A Guide to Philosophy Resources - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Why This Research Guide? And a comment on research strategy

Why?

"The [final] paper/project must be based on material we’ve covered in class (and must engage at least one assigned reading)." - Anya Plutynski

How?

"Start with the information you have to find the information you want." - Michael Schaefer

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each of its nearly 1800 entries is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished editorial board before they are made public. Open access.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy
- written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in this database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. This online reference tool combines features of a high-level encyclopedia and of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online. The Psychology bibliography may be equally useful.

Book Reviews

Book Review Index (1965 - )
a comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

Individual Journal Titles and Journal Databases

Individual Journal Titles

Philosophy of Science by University of Chicago Press
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1934 - present
dedicated to the furthering of studies and free discussion from diverse standpoints in the philosophy of science. It is a peer-reviewed academic journal.

History of the Human Sciences
an international journal of peer-reviewed scholarly research, which provides an important forum for contemporary research in the social sciences, in the humanities, and in human psychology and biology. It is especially concerned with research that reflexively examines its own historical origins and interdisciplinary influences in an effort to review current practice and to develop new research directions. WashU Libraries do not own access to this journal, but it can be searched at the title link and articles can be borrowed via InterLibrary Loan.

Social Studies of Science by Sage Publications
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1975 - present
a central journal for the field of Science and Technology Studies, serving as a venue for the articulation and development of key ideas and findings in the field from its early years to the current day. The journal is multi-disciplinary, welcoming contributions that advance our understanding of science, technology and medicine as social and material activities.
History of Psychology by Society for the History of Psychology
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1998 - present
features refereed articles addressing all aspects of psychology's past and of its interrelationship with the many contexts within which it has emerged and has been practiced. It also publishes scholarly work in closely related areas, such as historical psychology (the history of consciousness and behavior), psychohistory, theory in psychology as it pertains to history, historiography, biography and autobiography, the teaching of the history of psychology, and data mining regarding the history of psychology.
Annual Review of Psychology by Annual Reviews
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1950 - present
covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more. Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
Psychological Review by American Psychological Association
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1894 - present
a bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal that covers psychological theory. publishes articles that make important theoretical contributions to any area of scientific psychology, including systematic evaluation of alternative theories. Papers mainly focused on surveys of the literature, problems of method and design, or reports of empirical findings are not appropriate. PR also publishes Theoretical Notes—commentaries that contribute to progress in a given subfield of scientific psychology.
Philosophy, Psychiatry & Psychology by Association for the Advancement of Philosophy and Psychiatry (AAPP)
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1994 - present
focuses on the area of overlap between philosophy and abnormal psychology and psychiatry. PPP seeks to: (a) enhance the effectiveness of psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, and other mental health care workers as practitioners, teachers, and researchers by illuminating the philosophical issues embedded in these activities; and (b) advance philosophical theory by making the phenomena of psychiatry and clinical psychology more accessible to philosophers. The Editors seek original contributions of a conceptual, empirical, or historical nature.
Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics by American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1998 - 2016
a bimonthly peer-reviewed medical journal covering bioethics and the philosophy of medicine with a more theoretical outlook than other journals in this area.
Philosophy Compass
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 2006 - present
a peer-reviewed academic journal publishing review articles on current issues in philosophy. Philosophy Compass is a convenient beginning point for non-specialists, providing scholars, teachers, and students with practical direction to enable them to effectively find and interpret the best research in the field.
Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Call Number: 1978-2008, QP360 .B425 Olin Library Level B; 1997-present, eJournal
Publication Date: 1978 - present
an internationally renowned, bimonthly peer-reviewed scientific journal. Particularly significant and controversial pieces of work are published from researchers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, behavioral biology or cognitive science, together with 20-40 commentaries on each article from specialists within and across these disciplines, plus the author's response to them.
Journal of Mind and Behavior by Institute of Mind and Behavior
Call Number: eJournal
Publication Date: 1980 - present
a peer-reviewed academic journal in psychology dedicated to the interdisciplinary approach within psychology in the following areas: the psychology, philosophy, sociology of experimentation and scientific method; the relationship between methodology, operationism, and theory construction; critical examinations of the DSM-biopsychology-somatotherapy framework of thought, and historical perspectives on the course and nature of psychological science.

Subject-Specific Databases

PhilSci Archive - Center for Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburgh
an openly accessible repository specifically tailored to and run by philosophers of science. Works posted here can be linked to from across the web and freely viewed without the need for a user account. PhilSci-Archive invites submissions in all areas of philosophy of science, including general philosophy of science, philosophy of particular sciences (physics, biology, chemistry, psychology, etc.), feminist philosophy of science, socially relevant philosophy of science, history and philosophy of science and history of the philosophy of science.

Philosophy

PhilPapers
a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. They monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

Psychology

American Psychological Association (APA) PsycArticles
contains 220,000 full-text articles from nearly 120 journals and is updated weekly. They can be searched simultaneously along with all other EBSCO products accessible to the WUSTL community.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete (1975-)
covers topics in most areas of academic study. Full-text provided for over 10,000 publications, with over 7,850 peer-reviewed. Abstracts and indexing available for over 13,780 journals in the collection.
JSTOR
Journals, books, images and primary sources.
Quick Search
the single search bar for *almost* everything WashU Libraries can access
Project MUSE
a collection of peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.

Additional Databases

Psychiatry Online (1998 - ) - DSM legacy library