A Guide to African and African-American Studies Resources

Covers modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Expanded coverage includes articles back to the 1930s, with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s. Updated daily, this RLG Citation Resources file is the single most important bibliographical research tool available worldwide for research in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history. The Avery Index surveys 2,863 US and foreign journals. Avery covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations; US, state, and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Updated quarterly.

Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract. Major areas of coverage include: industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, fashion and textile design, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design and packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design history and theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, and design management.

An authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth, signed full-text articles on the history of art written by noted scholars in their respective field of expertise. This online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art provides external image links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world. Within each entry, explore Illustrations and Image Links on the menu bar for related images.
Note: This source is licensed for eight consecutive users ~ please logout when finished.

New Feature: Articles may include images within the text, an example of which is the entry on Antoni Gaudi's mature work, illustrating Casa Mila, la pedrera.
(Clicking on the thumbnail or green hypertext link will open a larger image.)

Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, including manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, and glass.

In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,025 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.

AP Images is an electronic library containing the Associated Press' current year's photo report and a selection of images dating from the 1840s. The Archive is international in scope and contains over 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995 with new images added daily. There is also a separate database containing graphics, maps, illustrations and logos prepared by AP graphic artists. They can be downloaded and opened as PDF files. The graphics database dates from January 1999 to present. Licensed for 5 concurrent users.