Some databases are restricted to the Washington University community. Information about off-campus access (Proxy server and VPN).
Please also check databases in Chinese Studies | Japanese Studies | Korean Studies.
You may also find the following databases as well as others at: WU Libraries: A-Z Databases.
________________________________________________________
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present)
Indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
- Archives Unbound: Asian Studies
Digital collection with a focus on historical primary documents supporting multi-disciplinary research in history, political science, and more.
- ArticleFirst (WorldCat.org) (1990-)
Nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Updated daily.
- Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - )
References to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
- Books in Print
Bibliographic information on books & other materials published in United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. Includes Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S. which is updated quarterly.
- Cambridge Histories Online
Complete texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics enabling browsing by historical subject areas and includes extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861-)
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861, updated monthly. View 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. Abstracts included from July 1980; abstracts for masters theses beginning Spring 1988. Note: not all universities require doctoral candidates to submit their dissertations into this database. Include other sources for the most comprehensive searching. Learn more about this database
Note: You cannot request full-text of dissertations or theses via ILLiad from within the database; you can only order them using your own credit card. To request via ILLiad, log in to ILLiad, click on Request a Thesis, and fill out the form.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Washington University in St. Louis (1996-)
Full-text. Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by Washington University and published in UMI's Dissertation Abstracts database. View 24-page previews of dissertations and theses, and download the full text. Learn more about this database
- EThOS (British Dissertations & Theses)
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) harvests e-theses from institutional repositories in UK institutions and digitizes paper theses on-demand. Many UK institutions support Open Access to their theses, so download of their digital and digitised theses is free. Create a free account to select and download the free theses.
- Factiva (6 users)
Combines more than 35,000 sources for access to premium content from 200 countries in 26 languages. Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, web and social media, tweets, digital video and audio clips, analyst reports, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Learn more about this database
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index (1975 - 1996)
An index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.
- Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Historical Abstracts (1955-)
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Learn more about this database
- IngentaConnect
Tables of contents of more than 13,000 publications, with a total of more than 4 million articles. All disciplines are covered, with an emphasis on the sciences.
- JSTOR
Full-text. Journal index. JSTOR consists of the complete back runs of almost 500 journal titles, from whenever each title began publication to a point 3 or 5 years ago. How to use this database
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains full-text news, business, legal, and reference information sources. Newspapers included in the service are updated several times daily, newswires hourly. Learn more about this database or view an online tutorial
- MLA International Bibliography
Modern Language Association database provides citations to scholarly articles, dissertations, and collected works in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide.
- Oxford Art Online (8 users)
A comprehensive and authoritative guide with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, and art collections around the world, as well as images. Available through this site are Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Periodicals Index Online
Millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Covers 37 key subject areas and multiple languages. Learn more about this database
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses see
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861-)
- Project MUSE
Full-text, journal index. About 100 scholarly journals, most recent 3-5 years. Journals can be searched individually, in groups, or all together.