Subject Librarian
David Romney
He/Him/His
Contact:
East Asian Library
Room #208
January Hall
Washington University in St. Louis
Room #208
January Hall
Washington University in St. Louis
314.935.5155
Mobile Apps
- miwo on the App StoreCreated by Tarin Clanuwat in cooperation with ROIS-DS人文学オープンデータ共同利用センター（CODH）, "みを/miwo" enables users to read transcribed kuzushi-ji in modern language instantly through camera function on users' smartphones.
Some reference tools are available as mobile apps on iOS and Android devices. This LibGuide page lists selected apps that may be useful for doing research on Japan, such as dictionaries and world fact books.
Learning and reading kuzushiji/hentaigana
- The Hentaigana App: iOS, Android by UCLA (English)
- KuLA: iOS (Japanese App Store only), Android
- ☝ Link to the website of KuLA（アプリで学ぶくずし字）(Japanese)
Primo
Primo, Washington University Libraries' new discovery tool, integrates the index of JapanKnowledge. Without leaving Primo, you can search dictionary and encyclopedia entries on Japan-related topics/terms as well as JapanKnowledge e-book titles.
JapanKnowledge
- JapanKnowledge Lib
This link opens in a new window
Cross-search major Japanese encyclopedias and dictionaries. JapanKnowledge covers a wide range of subject areas, such as history, religion and literature, as well as languages, including kanji, historical and contemporary Japanese, and Chinese-Japanese, Korean-Japanese and English-Japanese dictionaries. For the full list of resources included, see http://japanknowledge.com/en/contents/ - 国史大辞典 (Kokushi Daijiten)
- This link opens in a new window
Kokushi Daijiten, a comprehensive dictionary of Japanese history, is available as part of the JapanKnowledge package, but must be accessed through a standalone interface. We share one (1) simultaneous access with 10 other universities. If your login fails, please check back at a later time. Also, as a courtesy to users in other institutions, please log off by clicking the "logout" button on the top right corner when you are done. - 日本歴史地名大系 (Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei)
- This link opens in a new window
Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei is a dictionary of Japanese historical geographical names. This resource is also available as part of the JapanKnowledge package, but must be accessed through a standalone interface. We share one (1) simultaneous access with 10 other universities. If your login fails, please check back at a later time. Also, as a courtesy to users in other institutions, please log off by clicking the "logout" button on the top right corner when you are done.
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Japan : Japanese history and culture, from abacus to zoriOlin Level 3 Stacks DS805 P47 1991
- Japan : an illustrated encyclopediaOlin Level 3 Stacks DS805 .J3 1993
- Japan encyclopediaOlin Level 3 Stacks DS821 .F7313 2002
- Kodansha encyclopedia of JapanWest Campus Library
- Kodansha encyclopedia of JapanOn JapanKnowledge database
- Modern Japan : an encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalismOlin Level 3 Stacks DS805 M63 1998
- 日本文化いろは事典 (Encyclopedia of Japanese Culture)Online resource
- ふりがな英和辞典 (Kodansha's furigana English-Japanese dictionary)East Asian Reference PL679 K67 1996
- 硏究社新英和大辞典 (Kenkyusha's new English-Japanese dictionary)East Asian Reference PL679 .K39 2002
- 英辞郎Online dictionary
- 怒涛の翻訳例辞書Online resource
- 硏究社新和英大辞典 (Kenkyusha's new Japanese-English dictionary)East Asian Reference PL679 .K4 2003
- The new Nelson Japanese-English character dictionaryEast Asian Reference PL679 .N4 1997
- 広辞苑 第6版 (Kōjien dai 6-han)East Asian Reference PL675 .S5 2008
- 日本国語大辞典 (Nihon kokugo daijiten)East Asian Reference PL675 .N46 2000 (Also available electronically through JapanKnowledge)
- 大漢和辞典 (Dai Kan-Wa jiten)East Asian Reference PL1425 M6
- 漢字ペディア (Kanji-pedia)Online resource
- Japanese names : a comprehensive index by characters and readingsEast Asian Reference/Olin Level A Stacks PL528 O5
- 歴史人名よみかた辞典 (Rekishi jinmei yomikata jiten)East Asian Reference DS834 R44 1989
- 日本人名辞典 (Nihon jinmei jiten)East Asian Reference CT1833 H3
- 人名用総合漢字表 (Jinmeiyō sōgō kanjihyō)East Asian General Stacks CS3000 J56
Maps
- Japanese Historical Maps Collection from the C. V. Starr East Asian LibraryCompiled by Toshie Marra, Japanese Studies Librarian at UC Berkeley, this LibGuide navigates researchers who need access to historical maps in Japan and beyond.
- Japanese Historical MapsContains about 2300 early maps of Japan and the world (This collection is also available on LUNA Commons, accessible through Washington University's LUNA image delivery at http://luna.wustl.edu:8180/luna/servlet/login. Login with your WUSTL Key and password).
- Japanese Maps of the Tokugawa EraUBC's collections of maps and guidebooks of the Japanese Tokugawa period
- 日本歴史地名大系 (Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei)
- This link opens in a new window
The dictionary of Japanese historical geographical names. Available online. - Gaihozu (外邦図) at National Diet LibraryThe National Diet Library of Japan's holding of gaihozu, the maps of Imperial Japan's colonies and overseas interests produced during the time of the Empire.
- お茶の水大学外邦図コレクション (Ochanomizu Women's Univ. gaihozu collection)A digitized collection of gaihozu held at Ochanomizu Women's University.
- 東北大学付属図書館 外邦図デジタルアーカイブ (Gaihozu digital archive, Tohoku University)A digital collection of gaihozu held at Tohoku University.
- A Short Guide to GSI JapanNavigation for the website of "Geospatial Information Authority (GSI) of Japan" in English. Created by Dr. Matthew Hayes at Duke University Libraries
- 地理院地図 (Chiriin chizu)Digital maps provided by the Geospatial Information Authority of Japan (Kokudo chiri-in).
- MapionA commercial website for city maps, transportation maps and postal code look up.
- 郵便番号検索 (Yubin bango kensaku)Postal code look up.
For additional map searching tips, visit the National Diet Library's リサーチ・ナビ.
Additional Online Resources
- Doryoko (度量衡 measurements) ConversionFor converting traditional Chinese length, volume and weight measurements to Western units.
- 年号／西暦変換 (Nengo-seireki convertor)A tool to help you convert a Japanese year with nengo to a Western year. (Works for Edo period and later).
- 太陰暦・太陽暦変換 (Lunar-Solar calendar convertor)Converts a lunar-calendar date to a solar-calendar date. Also works backwards.
- 記号の読み方How to read/pronounce punctuation marks and other marks and signs in Japanese.
- 図・表・グラフ等の読み方Describing charts and graphs in Japanese.
- JR線 読み方辞典How to read/pronounce train station names. (JR lines)
- 民営鉄道（ＪＲ以外） 読み方辞典How to read/pronounce train station names. (non-JR, private sector lines)
- 年号（元号）の読み方How to read/pronounce nengo (era designations in the Japanese year).
- 歴代天皇と御陵の読み方How to read/pronounce names of Japanese emperors and the names of their tombs.
- 色名読み方辞典How to read/pronounce Japanese color names.
- アルファベット略語読み方辞典Pronunciation guides to acronyms. (May be useful for looking up acronyms of Japanese organizations).
- 日本の読み方How to read/pronounce 日本 (Nihon vs. Nippon). * Note that in library catalogs 日本 is always transliterated as "Nihon," unless the word is a part of a specific corporation/organization name that calls itself "Nippon" something.
- 郵便番号検索 (地名の読み方)The postal code look up tool from the Japan Post supplies reading/pronunciation for place names (if currently in use as a residential address).
- かぞえるんぞうLook up/learn proper counter words (counters) used in Japanese.
- Japan Statistical YearbookStatistics Bureau of Japan publishes the comprehensive and systematic summary of basic statistical information of Japan annually, covering wide-ranging fields such as Land, Population, Economy, Society, Culture, and so on.
- Statistics Japan総務省統計局 (Statistics Bureau, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communication of Japan)
- Gender statistics database女性と男性に関する統計データベース
- Bank of Japan Statistics日本銀行統計データ
- Social Science Japan Data Archive (University of Tokyo)東京大学社会科学研究所 社会調査・データアーカイブ研究センター
- JETRO StatisticsTrade statistics from JETRO (日本貿易振興機構)
- Public Opinion Poll data (NHK)NHK放送文化研究所世論調査ファイル
- 漢字ペディア (Kanji-pedia)A free online dictionary for looking up kanji and exploring colloquial uses of kanji in words and phrases.
- Kanji aliveA searchable aid for learning to read and write kanji in Japanese language (by Harumi Hibino Lory & Arno Bosse, Chicago University)
- Kanji ConverterAn online tool to convert texts and Websites (that contain kanji) to Romaji or Hiragana.
- Japanese Kanji DictionaryA free, online dictionary of kanji
- ReaD & ResearchmapA directory of Japanese scholars with their research interests and projects.