Research Guides: A Guide to Japanese Studies Resources: Databases

Japanese databases

The following is the list of Japanese databases WashU subscribes to.

For a more comprehensive list of openly accessible resources on Japanese Studies, visit Japanese Studies Research Guide.

All subscription-based databases require on-campus access OR proxy login. Please refer to this page for more information.

*** JapanKnowledge, Kokushi daijiten and Nihon rekishi chimei taikei databases all use the same, single system to authenticate your access. Those three databases, thus, cannot be used side-by-side at the same time. Also, when switching between those three databases, please make sure to log out from the database you are leaving by using the "log out" button on the top right corner of the search screen. The authentication system denies your access or keeps you in the same database forever if that step is not taken.

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search/朝日新聞クロスサーチ
Asahi Shimbun database from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today, including Gaichiban, Overseas editions in the colonial period (1935-45), and Asahi Graph, a pictorial magazine (1923-56).
more...less...
formerly called, "Asahi Shimbun Kikuzo II Visual"
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). BAS references primarily western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia, published since 1971.
JapanKnowledge
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference materials in Japanese. JapanKnowledge also includes a selection of Japanese classical works in the e-book format. The login/search interface can be switched to English by clicking the ENGLISH link on the top right corner.
Kokushi Daijiten (国史大辞典)
Dictionary of Japanese History. Kokushi daijiten is part of the JapanKnowledge package, but must be used through a standalone interface. ** We share one (1) simultaneous access with 10 other universities, so please check back if you cannot log in. As courtesy to users in other institutions, please log off by hitting the "logout" button" when you are done.** The login/search interface can be switched to English by clicking the ENGLISH link on the top right corner.
Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei (日本歴史地名大系)
Dictionary of Japanese historical place names. Nihon rekishi chimei taikei is part of the JapanKnowledge package, but must be used through a standalone interface. ** We share one (1) simultaneous access with 10 other universities, so please check back if you cannot log in. As courtesy to users in other institutions, please log off by hitting the "logout" button" when you are done.** The login/search interface can be switched to English by clicking the ENGLISH link on the top right corner.
Zasshikiji Sakuin Shusei Database (ざっさくプラス: 雑誌記事索引集成データベース)
Index to major national and local periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, from 1868 to present.
Maruzen eBook Library
Maruzen eBook Library is a platform that provides access to Japanese e-books we have purchased at WashU Libraries. Click the link above to see the list of available titles (Most books have 1 or 3 concurrent user limit. Please log out when you are finished with the book).

You can also browse and jump to Maruzen E-book Library titles from this research guide page.