A Guide to Japanese Studies Resources

General instructions on finding images and information on our digital image collections

(国際日本文化研究センター)

(奈良女子大学画像データベース)

primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Open access, peer-reviewed journal devoted to the discussion of photography from Asia.

国立国会図書館デジタル化資料・古典籍資料(貴重書等)

国立博物館 e国宝

文化遺産オンライン

This photographic database contains Yomiuri Shimbun photographs from the 1950s to the present. Since this is a relatively new electronic resource, look for more material to be added in the future.

The largest digital image database in Japan, the Mainichi PhotoBank contains over 120,000 photographs from the prewar era, and over 200,000 photographs since 1998.

(京都大学電子図書館: 貴重資料画像) includes the Meiji Restoration database, National Treasure Konjaku monogatari, Goseibai shikimoku, and Fujikawa collection of medical books.

An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52).

(長崎大学付属図書館 幕末・明治期日本古写真メタデータ・データベース)

(東京大学史料編纂所データベース)

近代日本人の肖像 (国立国会図書館)

A photo blog with photos of Japan between the 1860s and 1930s

Non-film digitized collections of National Film Archive of Japan (NFAJ / 国立映画アーカイブ）(Japanese)

京都大学電子図書館: 貴重資料画像

listing of images from Tsukuba University Library's rare book collection, along with nishiki-e.

A nishiki-e database and search engine maintained by the Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum at Waseda University.