A Guide to Japanese Studies Resources

U of Tokyo curates articles about "Pop Culture" in Japan, written by global scholars. (English)

The pilot edition of this new database allows users to conduct integrated searches for arts in the fields of Manga, Anime, Game, and Media Arts. (Japanese, English, Chinese, & Korean)

The Agency for Cultural Affairs provides all the data on Japanese films after 1896 registered through EIRIN (the Film Classification and Rating Organization).

日本映画データベース

Includes major Japanese distributer Shochiku, Toho, Toei and Kadokawa products (1959-)

黒澤明デジタルアーカイブ

山形国際ドキュメンタリー映画祭

Japan Association of Audiovisual Producers, Inc. provides databases of educational, industrial, scientific, and PR films after 1955 in Japan.

Major DVD and CD rental chain in Japan. The website includes information about DVDs and CDs.

One of the most comprehensive cinema database including foreign movies. Information included are reviews, images, and related data copyrighted by Sringray Company. Listed new and old Japanese and foreign movies.

テレビドラマデータベース Over 27,000 Japanese TV dramas since 1940 are searchable by title, cast, creator, abstracts, and writers.

The Association of Japanese Animations provides all the data on animations after 1917 in Japan.

Interviews and excerpts of J-Pop musics since 1960s

Japan Playwrights Association presents a database for contemporary playwrights in Japan.

This database provides information on current stage performances in Japan (after the 1980s) with some moving images.