Fashion Journals and Magazines
- DressOnline and Print: Art Per GT605 .D74
- Ecotextile newsOnline and Print: Art Per. TD195.T48 E26
- Fashion theoryOnline and Print: Art Per. TT500 .F37
- Fashion practiceArt Per. GT500 .F37
Journal Archives:
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues. Learn more about this database
- Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
The leading fashion-industry trade paper since 1910. Covers the history and business of twentieth-century fashion.
Issues are scanned from cover to cover, encompassing each page, article, advertisement and cover, with searchable text and indexing. Learn more about this database.
Subject Librarian for Art & Architecture
Search for Articles on Fashion in These Databases
ART + DESIGN ARTICLE DATABASES:
- Art Full Text(1984 - present)
Indexes articles and art reproductions from major art and architecture periodicals, with an emphasis on those in English. - ARTbibliographies Modern(1974-Present)
Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, and illustration.
- Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The Arts Premium Collection provides cross-searchable access to thousands of journal titles, ensuring deep searches of extensive international collections in specialist subject areas not covered in more general databases. Includes the Art, Design & Architecture Collection. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
- Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) This link opens in a new window
The "most detailed account of U.S. culture and history you’ll find anywhere".
MULTIDISCIPLINARY ARTICLE DATABASES:
- Academic Search Complete (1975-present) This link opens in a new windowSelect IMAGE QUICK VIEW in Advanced Search to find articles that include images.
IMAGE-RICH DATABASES:
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window New interface available at JSTOR ArtstorCollection of nearly 2 million images, documenting artistic traditions across many times and cultures. Embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues. Learn more about this database
- Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new windowLATEST YEAR (with images) IN BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE
- WWD LATEST YEAR ISSUES (Business Source Complete)Find current year of WWD (with images) here
OTHER ARTICLE DATABASES:
- GreenFILECovers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
- International Bibliography of Art(2008-present)
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. IBA continues coverage of European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Including indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles. - Design Abstracts Retrospective (Arts: Search)DAR covers several important design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the twentieth century. DAR covers articles on all design, from architecture to embroidery."
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct offers access to over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works. While this database is best known for its collections in Science, Technology and Medicine, there is also strong coverage of journals in Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance. Some are subscribed by WU Libraries (available full-text); some are not. Click on Search to search all titles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Contains over 46 million records, 70% with abstracts, and also includes over 4.6 million conference papers. NOTE: Click "Institutions" icon in right corner. Change organization to Washington University in St Louis John M Olin Library, Danforth Campus.
- Web of Science (1900 - ) This link opens in a new window
Science, social science, arts, and humanities citations for scholarly literature.
- SciFinder-n (1907 - ) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. Sources include 10,000 journals, patents from 61 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Learn more about this database. NOTE: Requires user registration. Follow this link to register using your Washington University email address - Registration for SciFinder. Learn about using this database off campus
Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive is a complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included.
Tip: Use Advanced Search to find images by garment type, designer or brand names and photographer or illustrator.