Contact for Data Consultation
Ask Us!
Chat with a librarian or reference assistant
Data Sources
- AtoZdatabasesAtoZdatabases is the premier job search, reference and mailing list database including 30 million business and executive profiles and 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, and employment opportunities.
- Census ExplorerTool to find US Census data. It will help you find popular facts (e.g., population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community at different geographic levels (e.g., census tracts, etc.)
- Data.govThe home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. - GHDx - Global Health Data Exchange [dataset inventory]Copyrighted by data's author. "Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. Search, browse, and find information about datasets. Download IHME results and public-use datasets from other organizations." http://ghdx.healthdata.org/
- GHDx - Global Health Data Exchange [dataset inventory]Copyrighted by data's author. "Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. Search, browse, and find information about datasets. Download IHME results and public-use datasets from other organizations." http://ghdx.healthdata.org/
- International Research GuideA compendium of international data sources.
- Kaggle DatasetsKaggle supports a variety of dataset publication formats, but we strongly encourage dataset publishers to share their data in an accessible, non-proprietary format if possible. Not only are open, accessible data formats better supported on the platform, they are also easier to work with for more people regardless of their tools.
- Living Standards - World Bank Microdata LibraryThe Microdata Library facilitates access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities. These 'microdata' sets may also originate from population, housing or agricultural censuses or through an administrative data collection processes. The Library contains supporting documentation from censuses and surveys conducted or supported by the World Bank, as well as by other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries. Learn More »
- Measure DHS: Demographic and Health SurveysThe Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.
- Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (UNICEF)Download reports of MICS surveys and request access to available datasets. Archives can be downloaded for select surveys. You must register to download.
- NASA Data PortalDATA.NASA.GOV is NASA's clearinghouse site for open-data provided to the public.
- NCES: National Center for Educational StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- NOAA - Climate Data OnlineClimate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals. Customers can also order most of these data as certified hard copies for legal use.
- re3data.org – Registry of Research Data Repositories (formerly Databib)An online, community-driven, annotated bibliography and registry of research data repositories
- UN data catalogThe aim of this platform is to provide a comprehensive and representative overview of UN system open data assets. This initial release was launched on 31 March, 2016.
- American National Election StudiesTo serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project.
- Healthdata.govThis site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
- HUD DataGovernment data on housing.
- ICMA Municipal Form of Government Survey DataThis dataset covers form of government, initiatives for referenda and recall, selection and composition of elected officials.
- ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research has data on various social science topics. You can browse datasets based on topic, series, or based on theme. ICPSR also has learning guides based on a certain dataset.
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and NeglectA resource since 1988, the National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.
- National Longitudinal SurveysThe National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women. NLS data have served as an important tool for economists, sociologists, and other researchers for more than 50 years.
- Pew Research Center DataPew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.
- Qualitative Data RepositoryQDR curates, stores, preserves, publishes, and enables the download of digital data generated through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences.
- re3data.org – Registry of Research Data Repositories (formerly Databib)An online, community-driven, annotated bibliography and registry of research data repositories
- UCLA Social Science Data ArchiveThe mission of the Social Science Data Archive has been and continues to be to provide a foundation for social science research with faculty support throughout an entire research project involving original data collection or the reuse of publicly available studies.
- GHDx - Global Health Data Exchange [dataset inventory]Copyrighted by data's author. "Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. Search, browse, and find information about datasets. Download IHME results and public-use datasets from other organizations." http://ghdx.healthdata.org/
- Humanitarian Data ExchangeRun by the Centre for Humanitarian Data, which is focused on increasing the use and impact of data in the humanitarian sector. It is managed by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). The Centre’s services are available to humanitarian partners and OCHA staff in the field and at Headquarters free of charge.
- Association of Religious Data ArchiveThe ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA.
- ConstelateUsers can create a ready-to-analyze dataset with point-and-click ease from over 30 million documents, including primary and secondary texts relevant to every discipline and perfect for learning text analytics or conducting original research. Ability to find patterns in your dataset with ready-made visualizations, or conduct more sophisticated text mining in our Analytics Lab using Jupyter notebooks configured for a range of text analytics methods.
- DH Resources for Project BuidlingLinks to some useful resources.
- Documenting the American South DataDoc South Data provides access to some of the Documenting The American South collections in formats that work well with common text mining and data analysis tools.
- Hathi Trust Research CenterThe HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) enables computational analysis of the HathiTrust corpus. It is a collaborative research center launched jointly by Indiana University and the University of Illinois, along with HathiTrust, to help meet the technical challenges researchers face when dealing with massive amounts of digital text.
- Million Song DatasetsThe Million Song Dataset is a freely-available collection of audio features and metadata for a million contemporary popular music tracks.
- Post45 Data CollectiveThe Post45 Data Collective peer reviews and houses post-1945 literary data on an open-access website designed, hosted, and maintained by Emory University’s Center for Digital Scholarship.