AMCS 206 - Reading Culture: Asian American Visual Literatures and Popular Culture - A Guide to American Culture Studies - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Reference Works - A Place to Begin

Asian Americans -- Encyclopedias

Asian Americans by Xiaojian Zhao & Edward J.W. Park, Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781598842395
Publication Date: 2014
a leading reference resource for Asian American studies that gives students, researchers, librarians, teachers, and other interested readers the ability to easily locate accurate, up-to-date information about Asian ethnic groups, historical and contemporary events, important policies, and notable individuals. Written by leading scholars in their fields of expertise and authorities in diverse professions, the entries devote attention to diverse Asian and Pacific Islander American groups as well as the roles of women, distinct socioeconomic classes, Asian American political and social movements, and race relations involving Asian Americans. Xiaojian Zhao is a professor of Asian American Studies, University of California - Santa Barbara. Edward Park is a
professor of Asian and Asian American Studies at Loyola Marymount University.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today by Edith Wen-Chu Chen, Grace J. Yoo, & Wendy Ng, Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780313347504
Publication Date: 2010
offers 110 entries on the current state of affairs, controversies, successes, and outlooks for future for Asian Americans. The sections include: Diversity and Demographics (unique entries on Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean, South Asian, Southeast Asian, and Thai Americans); Economy and Work (accent discrimination, glass ceiling, globalization, H-1B visas, housing, impact of Asian immigrants on the U.S. economy, labor unions, low-income workers, poverty, and small business ownership and employment); Education (affirmative action, Asian American Studies, bilingual education, college campus climate, community college students, cram schools, freedom schools, model minority myth, parental pressure and expectations, retention of college students, standardized testing, student groups, undocumented immigrant students); Health (cancer, cardiovascular health, complementary and alternative medicine, diabetes, end of life, gambling, health care access, infectious diseases, mental health, sexual health, substance abuse, suicide, tobacco use), and Identity (psychological approaches to understanding Asian American identity, Asian American identities in Hawai'i, beauty pageants, LGBTQ identity, multiracial Asian and Pacific Islanders, Pan-South Asian identity, racial features and cosmetic surgery, and religious identity and marginalization). Editors are professors at California State University - Northridge and San Francisco State University.
The Asian American Encyclopedia by Franklin Ng, Editor
Call Number: Olin Library Level 3 Reference E184 O6 A827 1995
ISBN: 1854356771
Publication Date: 1995
basic information about the history, language, and culture of Asian Americans' diverse countries of origin; the role of Asian Americans in the arts, education and scholarship, government and politics, science and technology, sports, and other fields; Asian Americans' struggles against discrimination, including key court cases; and US immigration policy as it has affected the development of the various Asian American communities. Community studies provide overviews of the six largest Asian American groups: Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Asian Indian, Korean, and Vietnamese. Smaller groups are covered as well: Hmong, Pacific Islander, and others. Charts, tables, graphs, maps, and photographs complement the text. Editor is professor of Anthropology and Asian American Studies at California State University - Fresno.

Japanese Americans

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by Japanese-American National Museum Staff; Brian Niiya, Editor
Call Number: Olin Library Level 3 Stacks E184.J3 E53 2001
ISBN: 0816040931
Publication Date: 2001
Written under the auspices of the Japanese American National Museum - the leading repository of material on Japanese American history - the text, in addition to an A-to-Z encyclopedia section, also includes an enlightening overview by noted Asian American studies scholar Gary Okihiro, a detailed chronology of major events in Japanese American history, and an extensive bibliography of the best sources for further research. Nearly 100 photos as well as numerous firsthand accounts and further readings in many of the entries add additional depth to this work.

Hollywood

Multicultural Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood by James Robert Parish & T. Allan Taylor, Editors
Call Number: Olin Library Level A Stacks PN1995.9.M56 E52 2003
ISBN: 0816046042
Publication Date: 2003
Alphabetically arranged biographical and topical entries cover the treatment and progress of African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish a comprehensive reference to the treatment and progress of five ethnic groups in the world's most visible industry. It explores and contrasts the various stereotypes propagated by television and the movies about African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Jewish Americans, and Native Americans. Paralleling one another, the five detailed sections of the book include biographical entries on key actors, entertainers, and filmmakers, as well as topical entries on influential films, television shows, genres, themes, and ethnic stereotype. James Robert Parish is an American author, entertainment historian, and biographer, a former entertainment reporter for Variety), publicist, and attorney.

Politics

Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics by Jeffrey Schultz, Kerry L. Haynie, Anne M. McCulloch & Andrew Aoki, Editors
Call Number: Olin Library Level 3 Reference E184.A1 E574 2000
ISBN: 1573561290
Publication Date: 2000
four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.

In the Southern United States

The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Race by Charles Reagan Wilson, Thomas Cleveland Holt & Laurie B. Green, Editors
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781469607221
Publication Date: 2014
this concluding volume of the series challenges previous understandings, revealing the region's rich, ever-expanding diversity and providing new explorations of race relations. In 36 thematic and 29 topical essays. Together the essays paint a nuanced portrait of how concepts of race in the South have influenced its history, art, politics, and culture beyond the familiar binary of black and white. Potentially useful entries include: "Asian American Narratives between Black and White;" "Asians, Mexicans, Interracialism, and Racial Ambiguities;" "Chinese;" "Japanese American Incarceration during World War II;" "Pacific Worlds and the South," and "Vietnamese." The editors of this volume are professors of American and African American History.

Political Issues

CQ Researcher (1991 - )
44 reports per year. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week, featuring comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue.

Subject Headings

Southeast Asian American

Thai American

Vietnamese American

Academic Journal Article Databases

EBSCO

America: History & Life (1964-)
- a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries.
Communication Source
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields. Includes coverage of over 1,000 core titles and features full-text for more than 600 active periodicals.
Business Source Complete (1965-)
full text articles from scholarly business journals and other sources, including financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Updated daily.
Historical Abstracts (1955-)
- coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
SocINDEX with Full Text
- scholarly journals, plus extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (1975 - )
index and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Gender Studies Database (1972- )
combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes more than 921,000 records.

ProQuest

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (1987-)
Abstracts and indexes over 600 journals and periodicals, from more than 16 countries, spanning literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics from 1987 to present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (1951 - )
International database of bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters for the social sciences since 1951.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
Indexes and abstracts books, periodical articles, and government publications in the fields of public affairs and public policy. Provides social and economic analyses of international, national, and local policies.
GenderWatch
a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Over 31,000 full text articles from 115 publications and archival material. Updated quarterly.
Music & Performing Arts Collection (1864 - )
Cross-searchable, seminal bibliographies in music and performing arts, with full-text access to hundreds of journals. Updated monthly. Includes the Music Periodicals and Performing Arts Periodicals databases.
Political Science Database (1985-)
full-text of 430 political science and international relations journals, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. Also included are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network, and more than 700 Oxford Analytica country profiles, from 2008 to current.
Dissertations and Theses Global
access to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637 to the present day together with over 2.7 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 200,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Social Science Premium Collection
covers over 1,000 international titles in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education over a variety of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.

Multidisciplinary databases

Primary Sources

Periodicals: Journals, Newspapers & Magazines
a link to the tab of the same name under "Articles" on the general U.S. History LibGuide

Other Periodicals

Ethnic Newswatch
includes current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives (1959-1989). This database includes 44 publications from Asian/Pacific Islander publications from Asian American Policy Review to Hmong Times to Masala.
MAS Ultra (1975 - )
full text for more than 700 popular magazines including news weeklies like U.S. News & World Report, Newsweek, Time, The Nation, and the Economist, and entertainment weeklies like Hollywood Reporter, Sports Illustrated, Ebony, Ladies Home Journal, etc.

Government Documents

U. S. Declassified Documents Online
selected previously classified government documents ranging from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Search by name, date, word, or phrase, or focus on document type, issue date, source institution, classification level, date declassified, sanitization, completeness, number of pages, and document number. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
ProQuest Congressional
comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes: CIS Legislative Histories (public laws back to 1969), Congressional publications (1817 - ), testimony from Congressional hearings (1824-), Congressional Record and Federal Register, U.S. Serial Set, 1789-1969, Serial Set Maps, 1789-1969, and more.
Legislative Insight
Legislative Insight provides legislative histories with digital full-text publications. It contains over 27,000 legislative histories for federal laws, including some enacted as far back as 1789. Only includes congressional publications that are related to bills enacted into law that are included in this database. For other full-text congressional documents, see ProQuest Congressional.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States
A standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Contains over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources.

Culture Industry

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-2015)
an archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Rolling Stone (1967 - )
one of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, spanning music, politics / society, and entertainment. Coverage is from Rolling Stone's launch in 1967, with ongoing addition of new issues. Rolling Stone initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.