Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Biography - encyclopedia and biographical dictionaries
William Hyde and Howard L. Conard, eds. Encyclopedia of the History of St. Louis: A compendium of history and biography for ready reference (New York; Louisville: The Southern History Company, 1899). Volumes 3&4 have been digitized. SLPL has a copy that can be borrowed.
Stevens, Walter B. (Walter Barlow), 1848-1939. St. Louis, the fourth city, 1764-1909 (St. Louis : S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1909; reprinted by Salem, MA: Higginson Book Co., 2003).
A. N. Marquis, The Book of St. Louisans: A biographical dictionary of leading living men of the city of St. Louis and vicinity 2nd ed. (St. Louis: The St. Louis Republic, 1912).
Cecil Morrison Baskett, Men of Affairs in Saint Louis: A newspaper reference work (St. Louis: Press Club of St. Louis, 1915).
Saint Louis (Mo.) -- Bibliography
Gosebrink, Jean E. Meeh, ed. Saint Louis: An annotated bibliography on the city & its area (St. Louis, MO: St. Louis Area Studies Center, St. Louis Public Library, 1991).
Saint Louis (Mo.) -- History -- Bibliography
Witte, Victoria. Materials relating to the ethnic heritage of St. Louis in the Washington University Libraries; bibliography. St. Louis: Washington University, 1975.
Landmarks Association of St. Louis. General bibliographical references on St. Louis architecture, architects and history (1979)
Troen, Selwyn K. A Guide to resources on the history of Saint Louis. St. Louis, MO: Institute for Urban and Regional Studies, Washington University, 1971.
Missouri -- Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Missouri 2nd ed (St. Clair Shores, MI: Somerset Publishers, 1997) - 2 vols.
BOOKS
Subject Librarian's personal favorites
McConachie, Alexander Scot, 1942- . The "Big Cinch": A business elite in the life of a city, Saint Louis, 1895-1915 PhD. diss. (St. Louis: Washington University, 1976).
Berger, Henry W. St. Louis & Empire: 250 years of imperial quest & urban crisis (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2015). eBook or print; the relationship between St. Louis and U.S. imperial expansion.
Famous St. Louis Histories
Primm, James Neal. Lion of the Valley: St. Louis, Missouri. 1st ed. Boulder, CO: Pruett Pub. Co., 1981; 2nd ed., 1990.
Ehrlich, Walter. Zion in the valley: The Jewish community of St. Louis, vol 1 & 2. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1997-2002. also on eBook
Ain't but a place: An anthology of African American writings about St. Louis. Gerald Early, ed. St. Louis: Missouri Historical Society Press, 1998.
Subject Headings
Louisiana Purchase Exposition (1904 : Saint Louis, Mo.)
ACADEMIC JOURNALS
Missouri Historical Society
The Bulletin, v. 1-36 (Oct. 1944-July 1980); Gateway Heritage journal, v. 1-25 (summer 1980-2005); Gateway magazine, v.26-27 (2005-2007) bound, print editions only
State Historical Society of Missouri
Missouri Historical Review (Oct. 1906-present) digitized
databases
America: History & Life - a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts - coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
WUSTL Libraries Special Collections
1904 World's Fair & Olympics research guide; their 1904 World's Fair collection
Bound, Print Anthologies
St. Louis (Mo.) -- History -- Sources
Newspapers
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) - St. Louis's longest-running, daily newspaper
St. Louis Argus (digitized, 1915-1926) - African American weekly; microfilm (1915-1996)
St. Louis Republic - 1888-1919; digitized 1900-1905
St. Louis Labor - (1893-1895; 1901-1902; 1907-1930) published by the Socialist Labor Party of Missouri
Other U.S. newspaper sources
Early American Newspapers - over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states, have been digitized.
Historical American Newspapers (ProQuest) - includes the Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Newspapers.com - historical newspapers from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. It contains a diverse blend of well-known regional and local newspapers in the US and other countries, including the St. Louis Globe Democrat (published 1852-1986; digitized 1863-1963). Newspapers.com is available through St. Louis Public Library. As a WUSTL student, you are eligible for an SLPL card; apply here.
Special Collections - St. Louis Room (see Adele Heagney or Kirwin Roach), Genealogy Department, and Rare Books and Manuscripts.
Louisiana Purchase Exposition - online photo collection
State Historical Society of Missouri - St. Louis Research Center
World's Fair Photograph Collection
DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
Hathi Trust a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
Empire Online - documents relating to Empire Studies. The images are sourced from libraries and archives around the world, including a strong core of document images from the British Library.
Sabin Americana - Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.
Indigenous Peoples: North America - traces the history of Native Peoples in North America from colonial relations in the 1600s to twentieth-century issues such as civil rights. Includes manuscript collections, rare books and monographs, newspapers, periodicals, census records, legal documents, maps, drawings and sketches, oral histories, and photos.