AMCS 330D - Culture and Identity: The Race for Criticism: African American Culture and its Critics - A Guide to American Culture Studies - Research Guides at Washington University in St. Louis

Finding Reviews of Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937-present)

Bibliographies

Zora Neale Hurston: A Reference Guide by Adele S. Newson
Call Number: Olin Library Level A Stacks PS3515.U789 Z45 1987
ISBN: 0816189021
Publication Date: 1987
Zora Neale Hurston: An annotated bibliography and reference guide by Rose P. Davis
Call Number: Olin Library Level A Stacks PS3515 U789 Z42 1997
ISBN: 0313303878
Publication Date: 1997
This reference book is a comprehensive guide to the large body of work written about her in the last 75 years. Included are annotated entries for books, dissertations, and theses written about Hurston's life and literary career. The volume also looks at hundreds of articles, book chapters, conference papers, reviews, children's books, and web sites.

Books

When a book analyzed and evaluated in book form, it receives its own subject heading. The format of the subject heading is:

Author [last name, first name, middle name]. Title of work.

So, in this case, the subject heading is: Hurston, Zora Neale. Their eyes were watching God.

The above link is to titles under that subject heading in WUSTL Libraries' catalog. You can also search in WorldCat.

Newspapers & Popular Periodicals

Quick Search
formerly known by its vendor product name, Primo, this feature searches all of WashU Libraries’ holdings, including books, journals, periodicals, and multimedia. The default search also shows results from a large index comprising billions of records for popular and scholarly articles, as well as other materials.

Book Review Index (1965 - )
a comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
African American Newspapers (ProQuest)
Includes Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Kansas City Call (1919-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), and St. Louis American (1949 - 2010).

Chronicling America
over 1000 full-text U.S. newspaper titles from 46 states & Puerto Rico published between 1793-1963. The focus of this collection is smaller circulating newspapers not the large, well-known, metropolitan papers. While the reviews in these papers typically were not written by academics, one can get a sense of who was reading the book when and what they thought of it.
Newspapers.com
available through St. Louis Public Library (get a membership remotely at https://www.slpl.org/ecard/ ); historical newspapers from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. It contains a diverse blend of well-known regional and local newspapers in the US and other countries, including the St. Louis Globe Democrat (published 1852-1986; digitized 1863-1963).

MAS Ultra (1975 - )
Full text for more than 700 popular magazines from the last 45 years. MAS Ultra is an EBSCO product and, unlike a number of other databases, uses subject headings, though not always the same as LoC's (for example: Their Eyes Were Watching God (Book : Hurston)).
Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
(1890-1982) - before there was the Internet, there was The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. The Reader's Guide indexed all the major, mainstream periodicals of its time. Much like the Guide, the Retrospective does not have the full text of the article, only the bibliographic citation.
Ethnic Newswatch
full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, including historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Includes useful titles from Black Issues Book Review to Essence.

Academic Journals

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Journals on language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Includes the MLA Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
America: History & Life (1964-)
either full text content of or indexing of bibliographic records and abstracts from to history journals devoted to covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Black Studies Center
includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles on Black Studies. Combines resources as: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and Black Literature Index.

Resources for the Final Paper

Reference Works

Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies
African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field’s institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies—culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

Encyclopedia of African-American literature by Wilfred D. Samuels
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781438140599
Publication Date: 2013
This work covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists. It includes entries on major and minor writers, including fiction and nonfiction writers, poets, dramatists, and critics, as well as the finest works of African-American literature from all genres and time periods.
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing by Sherry Hatch, Editor
Call Number: Olin Library Level A Stacks PS153.N5 A3444 2009
ISBN: 1592372910
Publication Date: 2009
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

Film, Music, and Theater Databases

Reference

American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog (1975 -)
the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1993 with full or short records for films from 1994 to 2015. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.

Popular and Trade Publications

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-2015)
Full-page images of US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater, as well as film fan magazines and music press titles. Primary sources from the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

Academic

Music & Performing Arts Collection (1864 - )
A performing arts journal resource with nearly 300,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to current, covering film, theatre and dance.

Mixed

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (1975 - )
Film and Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Screen Studies Collection (1893 - current)
includes Film Index International (BFI) A major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.

Media History Digital Library
A non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning. We have currently scanned over 1.3 million pages, and that number is growing. Collections feature Extensive Runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.

Primary Source Material

American Film Scripts Online
contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays.
Black Drama
contains approximately 1200 plays by 215 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.